Test Installation

Popular automatic website translation tool

Re: Test Installation

Postby Edvard » Sat May 10, 2014 8:31 pm

Thank you Ken for the note. We will fix the confusion on our side.

I'll make the upgrade for you and send instructions to your email and let you know here.

Thanks!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4403
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Test Installation

Postby Edvard » Sat May 10, 2014 8:54 pm

I have just sent email with instructions to configure Enterprise to your [email protected]****ds.ca email.

I have noticed that you are using SSL for your site. We are providing a self-signed SSL certificates and you may see SSL warning on your browser when you try to translate a page currently, for example https://es.sim-x.net . You may add an exception in your browser and test. If you like it, it will be required to purchase a wildcard SSL license for *.sim-x.net and provide it to us, so we can set it up for you. There is also a cheaper alternative. You may use Cloudflare and get SSL also for language subdomains to not see the warning message on the browser.

Let me know if you need assistance.

Thank you!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4403
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Test Installation

Postby kefford » Sat May 10, 2014 11:50 pm

I am testing the ENTERPRISE on my test site. I have added all the CNAME entries through my hosting interface. I have also upgraded my SSL certificate to a wildcard *.sim-x.net certificate. However, I am still seeing the browser warning whenever I choose another language. Not sure why.

Also, I am noticing that some of the text is prefaced with a "%" sign and does not get translated. Any idea why that would be? The FREE version translates this text just fine. You can see it here,

https://sim-x.net/test

which is my test site. It is an exact clone copy of my live site, but no users will use it.

Ken
kefford
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 1:16 am

Re: Test Installation

Postby kefford » Sat May 10, 2014 11:51 pm

Also, I forgot to say THANK YOU.
kefford
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 1:16 am

Re: Test Installation

Postby Edvard » Sun May 11, 2014 2:56 am

Hi,

You will need to send SSL certificates to us, so we can install them on our server for you for subdomains. You can send it to [email protected] email address.

% sign means that the text is queued in our translation and will be translated soon. Everything will be translated over time when we discover your new content for translation.

Thanks!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4403
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Test Installation

Postby kefford » Sun May 11, 2014 3:37 am

Sorry, but I have no idea how to copy and send an SSL certifcate as an attachment. How do I do that?

Ken
kefford
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 1:16 am

Re: Test Installation

Postby kefford » Sun May 11, 2014 3:49 am

This may be a stupid question but if the FREE version is translating these items fine, why not use these translations to power the ENTERPRISE version until these items actually clear the queue you mentioned?
kefford
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 1:16 am

Re: Test Installation

Postby kefford » Sun May 11, 2014 4:17 am

I am testing the ENTERPRISE and it also does not work properly! I am running the FREE on my LIVE site side by side with the ENTERPRISE on my test site to help test. Again, the FREE works beautifully, the ENTERPRISE not so good. I already raised about the fact that the ENTERPRISE is flagging about 90% of the content on my pages with a % and never translating it. That is a big enough problem.

But now I am seeing that when it comes to proper page navigation it, though way better than PRO, is also far from correct. My site has content that is restricted and only accessible with an account. When I login in ENGLISH everything works fine and can access all the content I should be able to. When I translate to another language it triggers a new LOGIN requirement but never allows access to the content. The FREE version handles this flawlessly!

I am going to be speaking frankly here, why don't you simply change your business model and charge for the FREE version instead? If I put ENTERPRISE on my live site right now none of my users could login to their content if they ever change to another language!

Ken
kefford
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 1:16 am

Re: Test Installation

Postby kefford » Sun May 11, 2014 5:19 am

As further info, with the ENTERPRISE version there is no way to LOGIN to my site under any means when displaying any language other than ENGLISH. One can only LOGIN in English and that LOGIN is lost whenever you switch language. Hence, no way to view any restricted content other than in ENGLISH.

Note, on the positive side, I can confirm on ENTERPRISE that it does not translate the content of input fields by default. That is good to see.

Ken
kefford
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 1:16 am

Re: Test Installation

Postby Edvard » Sun May 11, 2014 11:35 am

Hi,

With Free you translate only one page on the fly and it is not being saved anywhere. Enterprise translates in parallel many pages of your website and saves it for future delivery, so search engines can index your translated pages. You just need to give it little bit more time to discover content on your website and translate. You shouldn't be worried about that over time everything will get translated starting from popular items.

Basically if you do not want to gain from SEO and do not want impoved translations quality and manual edit ability there is no need to switch to Pro or Enterprise.

If you describe step-by-step what you do to login I can see what is going on and suggest how to fix the issue. It is not a right statement that you cannot login on a translated pages. Also, if you want to keep login state on all languages you need to set a cookie domain for your site to be .sim-x.net with the dot prefix.

When you bought SSL certificate they should have send it to you. You need to send what you got to me.

Thank you!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4403
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Test Installation

Postby kefford » Sun May 11, 2014 5:21 pm

I am sorry, but it absolutely is the case that I cannot login under any other language than English. I have tested everything, and I know. How can you possibly say that if you have not even tried? You are welcome to go to https://sim-x.net/test and create your own account and see what happens. It is easy to see the problem.

Users can login to my site using FB, LinkedIn, Google+ or standard username/password entry. All methods tie into the standard Joomla login so nothing is strange there. I use an extension called EasyProfile to manage all of this plus ACL Manager to manage all user and group access permissions. Standard stuff really. Under Enterprise version no LOGIN can be made unless in English and once you login in English your login is not observed under other languages.

Honestly, if there is more to be done, like the cookie thing referred to, this should all be clearly defined upfront as part of setup and install for the ENTERPRISE version. LOGIN under Joomla is standard stuff and management of access across languages is also standard and expected. What other things need to be setup that have not been defined?

Ken
kefford
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 1:16 am

Re: Test Installation

Postby kefford » Sun May 11, 2014 5:28 pm

Honestly, I am very glad I am figuring this out on my test site rather than my live site, so all is good. This means it is all risk free! And as long as it is risk free, I have absolutely no problem working through this stuff and even helping you to work this stuff out, we all benefit. so please, test away, and ask any questions you want.

Ken
kefford
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 1:16 am

Re: Test Installation

Postby Edvard » Sun May 11, 2014 5:29 pm

Hi,

I have created an account and logged in in Spanish version of your website. Can you please write step-by-step what I need to do to experience the issue you describe?

Please understand that we cannot pre define everything. But when you ask for a feature we try to make it happen. So if you want your session to be shared on all subdomain languages you need to set a correct cookie domain. Since you are making tests you are navigating from language to language and notice that you are not staying logged in. In real life people will stick with one language and do not change languages so often.

Since you have added the subdomains in DNS level it works everywhere even on your live site. I already mentioned that. If you do announce about the subdomain (you do not configure language selector to work with Enterprise), people will not know and not enter the translations.

Thank you!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4403
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Test Installation

Postby kefford » Sun May 11, 2014 11:09 pm

It is exactly as you suggest, switching languages after you login, and not staying logged in. That is the problem. I do not see the same behaviour when using the FREE version, with it you can login in one language and switch freely. Why in FREE can you move between languages but not in PRO or ENTERPRISE? Is it the case that gTranslate Enterprise was written assuming the user would create his account in, and always use, the same language?

If I need to create a cookie to accomplish what I am saying then I will do that, but that is not something I have ever done before. I will have to research how to do that. The extensions and tools i buy normally look after such things themselves.

Honestly, I am not looking for new features, but clearly I have a different perspective than you. In my industry, and the industry my site serves (aviation), moving between languages is common place. In the international aviation community the industry standard language is English, and everyone must operate in English. Plus, they will have a mother tongue depending upon where they were born or grew up and this may not be English. So, I would expect a user could move freely between English (the standard) and any ONE of the other available languages. But, no, not necessarily freely between all languages.

I am sorry but my seeing the FREE version handle the switching between languages so well just made me think that the paid ones would also. That was clearly an incorrect assumption on my part and was my mistake.

Regarding the translations, forgive me but this is new to me and I will not put it on my live site until I am sure it can handle what will be expected by my users. If the translations are not there but yet it needs to be LIVE for the translations to be created then for my site that will not work. They need to be there from the outset, which is why I suggested why not drive initial translations with what is being done in the FREE version? Then over time the better translations will get created, and the service improves with each subsequent use. If there is nothing to start with then there is no reason to implement it and the process cannot start and hence cannot move forward towards improving. But that is just my differing opinion I guess.

I am not following what you are saying about entering the subdomains in DNS and even working on my LIVE site. How can it? My live site is still using the FREE version and it is translating fine the same sentences that the Enterprise is skipping over (those with the leading %). I do not think you mentioned anything about this before, but if you did, my mistake. It probably did not register because I do not understand it.

Anyway thanks.

Ken
kefford
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 1:16 am

Re: Test Installation

Postby Edvard » Sun May 11, 2014 11:44 pm

Free and paid versions are completely different and they use different architecture and approach. I could answer to your question, but it is very technical and I'm sure that you are not interested to go into technical details.

Here you will find how to set a cookie domain: http://docs.joomla.org/J3.2:Global_configuration it is very easy to do.

I understand that you want it to happen and I thought that you would just search how to change cookie domain and find the solution yourself, so I didn't go into the details.

I understand that you are not a webmaster and shouldn't know all the technical aspects, but if you have any questions I'm always ready to answer them.

The free version works per request and does the translation then forgets until there is another request. While Pro and Enterprise save the translations and make it possible for you to make modifications. We need to discover your content to be able to translate. You can speed up the discovery process by manually browsing your website in different languages, so everything will be discovered and get translated. If you even don't do that, it is not an issue, crawlers who crawl your website will do the job for you.

The GTranslate Free version you are using is a language switcher only in case you have configured it to work with Pro or Enterprise version. However if you manually enter in the address bar es.sim-x.net your site will get translated by Enterprise version.

Please let me know what you want to achieve and I'll try to make it happen for you. As I understand you want your website to get translated and indexed in search engines. If that is the case, then it is set up and ready to use (except the SSL which you need to send, so I can setup for you), you can turn on Enterprise option in free module and make manual corrections to your translations.

Let me know.

Thank you!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4403
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Test Installation

Postby kefford » Mon May 12, 2014 4:36 am

Yes, that is exactly what I want to achieve, translating and SEO, and thanks for sparing me the technical details, I am absolutely not a webmaster! Thanks for the link, and i already read through it. It looks very easy, so I will do that tonight. Then I will try your suggestion of speeding the discovery by browsing myself. Honestly, you have a good product and it fits well with what i am trying to achieve so we will get there. I am just a little slow sometimes. Thanks.

Ken
kefford
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 1:16 am

Re: Test Installation

Postby kefford » Mon May 12, 2014 5:36 am

Just to confirm, the cookie settings worked great and now login remains valid across languages on my test site! Took me a little while to get the settings correct because I found that all the Joomla documentation is light on examples. But eventually I got it correct and it works great. Thanks again.
kefford
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 1:16 am

Re: Test Installation

Postby Edvard » Tue May 13, 2014 1:02 am

Good to hear that. Let me know when you send the SSL certificate, so I can configure it for you on our side.

Thanks!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4403
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Previous

  • Related Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests