Gtranslate pro fails, since upgrading to latest joomla 2.5

Popular automatic website translation tool

Gtranslate pro fails, since upgrading to latest joomla 2.5

Postby maniriazi » Wed May 14, 2014 2:14 pm

Gtranslated has been operating for some time now on this site http://www.judoforall.org

Since the latest upgrade to joomla 2.5.20 it has stopped working and causes the whole site to collapse and show only blank page. I have switched off Gtranslate plugin to maintain presence.

I have checked the .htaccess files and other things and have found everything in order - can't see what is causing this.

Please help!
Mike
maniriazi
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 2:05 pm

Re: Gtranslate pro fails, since upgrading to latest joomla 2

Postby Edvard » Wed May 14, 2014 3:22 pm

Hi,

From which version you have upgraded your Joomla?

Thank you!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Gtranslate pro fails, since upgrading to latest joomla 2

Postby maniriazi » Wed May 14, 2014 11:46 pm

hi
it was joomla 2.5.19 > 2.5.20
regards
Mike
maniriazi
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 2:05 pm

Re: Gtranslate pro fails, since upgrading to latest joomla 2

Postby Edvard » Wed May 14, 2014 11:51 pm

So, can you confirm that when you enable GTranslate plugin the site breaks?

Or you need to select a language to see the blank screen?
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Gtranslate pro fails, since upgrading to latest joomla 2

Postby maniriazi » Thu May 15, 2014 2:30 pm

Now with Gtranslate back on yes, the whole site gets a blank screen.

Regrads
Mike

Here is a copy of relevant .htaccess

---
## Mod_rewrite in use.

RewriteEngine On
# gtranslate config
RewriteRule ^([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)/([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)/(.*)$ /$1/$3 [R=301,L]
RewriteRule ^([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)/([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)$ /$1/ [R=301,L]
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteRule ^([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)/(.*)$ /gtranslate/translate.php?lang=$1&url=$2 [L,QSA]
RewriteRule ^([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)$ /gtranslate/translate.php?lang=$1 [L,QSA]

# gtranslate config
# RewriteRule ^([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)/([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)/(.*)$ /$1/$3 [R=301,L]
# RewriteRule ^([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)/([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)$ /$1/ [R=301,L]
# RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
# RewriteRule ^([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)/(.*)$ /gtranslate/translate.php?lang=$1&url=$2&glang=$1 [L,QSA]
# RewriteRule ^([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)$ /gtranslate/translate.php?lang=$1&glang=$1 [L,QSA]

# RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^judoforall\.org$ [NC] [OR]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} !^www\.judoforall\.org$
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.judoforall.org/$1 [R=301,L]

...
---
maniriazi
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 2:05 pm

Re: Gtranslate pro fails, since upgrading to latest joomla 2

Postby Edvard » Thu May 15, 2014 3:43 pm

Hi,

You mentioned that you are using GTranslate plugin, so there is no need to add that rules in .htaccess file. Also, I can see that you don't have gtranslate folder in www root folder. Please check our docs and let me know if you have installed the plugin or general version previously: https://gtranslate.io/docs/57-gtranslat ... umentation

Please go to plugins list and find GTranslate system plugin and make sure to activate it. You should remove the .htaccess rules you have added.

Thank you!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Gtranslate pro fails, since upgrading to latest joomla 2

Postby maniriazi » Thu May 15, 2014 4:28 pm

Hi
I have removed the items in .htaccess
I have not installed Gtranslate general version. I installed the plugin and the module.

I have done as you instruct. The sitemap and the robots txt files have also been checked with the online instructions.

I have cleared the site cache, browser cache etc. After a few minutes the site was restored. But the site language is now French and it will not go back to English.
the site seems very fragile and slow.

Do I need to clear the Gtranslate cache? the site content has not changed.

Regards
Mike
maniriazi
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 2:05 pm

Re: Gtranslate pro fails, since upgrading to latest joomla 2

Postby Edvard » Thu May 15, 2014 4:53 pm

No, do not clear the cache.

Do you have Global cache enabled? Can you disable it for a moment?
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Gtranslate pro fails, since upgrading to latest joomla 2

Postby maniriazi » Thu May 15, 2014 5:00 pm

I don't use Joomla's own Cache - jotcache is being used here - I have cleared all cache and it seems to have cleared this.

The odd thing with the extra rewrites is that his was working for several months and it only broke with the recent updates - the .htaccess was not changed.

The site seems much slower now but working. I will try to clean up more. But ultimately we may need to upgrade to 3.3 and avoid some of the old redundant plugins that we used in early 2.5.

Thanks for all your help.

Please do check to see from your side everything is as it should be.

Best regards
Mike
maniriazi
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 2:05 pm

Re: Gtranslate pro fails, since upgrading to latest joomla 2

Postby Edvard » Thu May 15, 2014 5:06 pm

Please make sure to reorder the system plugins, so that GTranslate is in the last position. I have checked and it is OK for me. The speed is also OK. It can be slow if it doesn't have some parts in the translation cache and it should to translate.

Thanks!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Gtranslate pro fails, since upgrading to latest joomla 2

Postby maniriazi » Thu May 15, 2014 5:13 pm

Excellent!
Thank you for all your help!

Gtranslate plugin is now in the last position.

It seems Ok we'll monitor it closely for a bit to see if everything is now functioning.

Thanks again!

P.S. I will contact you separately by email (that Rana gave) for another set of sites that we are planning and need multilingual translation.
maniriazi
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 2:05 pm

Re: Gtranslate pro fails, since upgrading to latest joomla 2

Postby Edvard » Thu May 15, 2014 5:15 pm

Good to hear that! Thanks!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Gtranslate pro fails, since upgrading to latest joomla 2

Postby maniriazi » Thu May 15, 2014 9:51 pm

Thanks for all your help!
Regards
Mike
maniriazi
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 2:05 pm


  • Related Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest

2GLux