[Solved] GTranslate Pro not working

Popular automatic website translation tool

[Solved] GTranslate Pro not working

Postby pdavies » Wed Dec 07, 2011 2:48 am

I have have been using the GTranslate Pro for over 12 months now. It was working very well but now nothing happens when any language flag is selected. I have ensured that the latest Java platform has been installed.
pdavies
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 2:37 am

Re: GTranslate Pro not working

Postby pdavies » Wed Dec 07, 2011 3:38 am

I have tried Google default setting and the languages all work fine. It seems that the On the Fly option has been disabled and the flags will not work.
pdavies
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 2:37 am

Re: GTranslate Pro not working

Postby Edvard » Wed Dec 07, 2011 5:24 pm

Hi,

With GTranslate Pro you should use Redirect translation method.
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4183
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: GTranslate Pro not working

Postby pdavies » Thu Dec 08, 2011 5:55 am

I already tried this but get a 404 error message. I will now check previous threads to see if this issue had already been discussed.
pdavies
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 2:37 am

Re: GTranslate Pro not working

Postby Edvard » Thu Dec 08, 2011 7:44 pm

I'm not sure what you did, but when I visit http://unityfinance.com.au/ I can see 500 server error.
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4183
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: GTranslate Pro not working

Postby pdavies » Mon Dec 12, 2011 6:12 pm

Hi Edvard

I tried to change the .htacess file to include the gtranslate config details as suggested by your FAQ but made a mess of it. I have fixed the problem but still have not got the redirect option to work.

Regards

Peter Davies
pdavies
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 2:37 am

Re: GTranslate Pro not working

Postby Edvard » Tue Dec 13, 2011 1:55 am

Hi,

When I go to http://www.unityfinance.com.au/gtransla ... hp?lang=ru I can see Russian, but when I go to http://www.unityfinance.com.au/ru/ which should be the same as http://www.unityfinance.com.au/gtransla ... hp?lang=ru I can see 404 error code. It means that you have something wrong in your .htaccess file. Can you post your .htaccess file here?
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4183
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: GTranslate Pro not working

Postby pdavies » Tue Dec 13, 2011 11:45 am

Hi Edvard

Thanks for having a look at this for me. I have downloaded the .htaccess file to my hard drive and attach it here.


##
# @version $Id: htaccess.txt 13415 2009-11-03 15:53:25Z ian $
# @package Joomla
# @copyright Copyright (C) 2005 - 2008 Open Source Matters. All rights reserved.
# @license http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/gpl.html GNU/GPL
# Joomla! is Free Software
##


#####################################################
# READ THIS COMPLETELY IF YOU CHOOSE TO USE THIS FILE
#
# The line just below this section: 'Options +FollowSymLinks' may cause problems
# with some server configurations. It is required for use of mod_rewrite, but may already
# be set by your server administrator in a way that dissallows changing it in
# your .htaccess file. If using it causes your server to error out, comment it out (add # to
# beginning of line), reload your site in your browser and test your sef url's. If they work,
# it has been set by your server administrator and you do not need it set here.
#
#####################################################

## Can be commented out if causes errors, see notes above.
Options +FollowSymLinks

#
# mod_rewrite in use

RewriteEngine On

########## Begin - Rewrite rules to block out some common exploits
## If you experience problems on your site block out the operations listed below
## This attempts to block the most common type of exploit `attempts` to Joomla!
#
## Deny access to extension xml files (uncomment out to activate)
<Files ~ "\.xml$">
Order allow,deny
#Deny from all
Satisfy all
</Files>
## End of deny access to extension xml files
RewriteCond %{QUERY_STRING} mosConfig_[a-zA-Z_]{1,21}(=|\%3D) [OR]
# Block out any script trying to base64_encode crap to send via URL
RewriteCond %{QUERY_STRING} base64_encode.*\(.*\) [OR]
# Block out any script that includes a <script> tag in URL
RewriteCond %{QUERY_STRING} (\<|%3C).*script.*(\>|%3E) [NC,OR]
# Block out any script trying to set a PHP GLOBALS variable via URL
RewriteCond %{QUERY_STRING} GLOBALS(=|\[|\%[0-9A-Z]{0,2}) [OR]
# Block out any script trying to modify a _REQUEST variable via URL
RewriteCond %{QUERY_STRING} _REQUEST(=|\[|\%[0-9A-Z]{0,2})
# Send all blocked request to homepage with 403 Forbidden error!
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ index.php [F,L]
#
########## End - Rewrite rules to block out some common exploits

# Uncomment following line if your webserver's URL
# is not directly related to physical file paths.
# Update Your Joomla! Directory (just / for root)

RewriteBase /


########## Begin - Joomla! core SEF Section
#
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} !^/index.php
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} (/|\.php|\.html|\.htm|\.feed|\.pdf|\.raw|/[^.]*)$ [NC]
RewriteRule (.*) index.php
RewriteRule .* - [E=HTTP_AUTHORIZATION:%{HTTP:Authorization},L]
#
########## End - Joomla! core SEF Section

Thanks again

Peter D
pdavies
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 2:37 am

Re: GTranslate Pro not working

Postby Edvard » Wed Dec 14, 2011 11:00 pm

Hi,

I cannot see # gtranslate config which is necessary. You can get the rewrite rules from general/readme.txt file.

Do you have a 3rd party SEF extension for your Joomla?
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4183
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: GTranslate Pro not working

Postby pdavies » Thu Dec 15, 2011 9:12 am

Hi Edvard

I use Artio JoomSEF. I looked for gen readme text file in my Gtranslate folder but cant find it. Please advise where this file can be accessed.

Thanks

Peter D
pdavies
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 2:37 am

Re: GTranslate Pro not working

Postby alt_f4 » Thu Dec 15, 2011 11:17 am

try to add to yout .htaccess the following lines

Code: Select all
RewriteRule ^([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)/([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)/(.*)$ /$1/$3 [R=301,L]
RewriteRule ^([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)/([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)$ /$1/ [R=301,L]
RewriteRule ^([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)/(.*)$ /gtranslate/translate.php?lang=$1&url=$2 [L,QSA]
RewriteRule ^([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)$ /gtranslate/translate.php?lang=$1 [L,QSA]


Reagrds, alt_f4
alt_f4
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 2:43 pm

Re: GTranslate Pro not working

Postby Edvard » Sat Dec 17, 2011 7:50 pm

You can find the readme.txt file in the product package general folder.
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4183
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: GTranslate Pro not working

Postby pdavies » Fri Dec 23, 2011 5:37 pm

Hi Edvard

I don't understand what you mean by the "Gtranslate Package". Where is this "package" located? Inside the Gtranslate directory? I had already advised you that I cant find this general readme text file in the Gtranslate directory in my root directory. I don't have any discs or other media that might contain such a "package".

Sorry to be slow in answering your post but did not notice until just now that it was on the next page. I noticed that another contributor was kind enough to put up some rules for inclusion in my .htaccess file but I will wait until I can access this readme text file to be sure that I don't make any more config errors.

Regards

Peter D
pdavies
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 2:37 am

Re: GTranslate Pro not working

Postby Edvard » Sun Dec 25, 2011 7:06 pm

You should have the package sent to your email address. You should find the installation steps after unzipping it.
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4183
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: GTranslate Pro not working

Postby pdavies » Wed Dec 28, 2011 5:59 am

Hi Edvard

Could you please resend the package as it has been over 12 months since I upgraded Gtranslate to Pro version and since then I have had to clean my PC of viruses.

Thanks

Peter D
pdavies
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 2:37 am

Re: GTranslate Pro not working

Postby Edvard » Thu Dec 29, 2011 5:39 pm

Hi,

Just sent the latest version to your PayPal email address.
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4183
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia


Re: GTranslate Pro not working

Postby Edvard » Sun Jan 08, 2012 12:46 am

Resent.
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4183
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: GTranslate Pro not working

Postby Thomas » Sun Jan 08, 2012 11:54 pm

Edvard wrote:Hi,

When I go to http://www.unityfinance.com.au/gtransla ... hp?lang=ru I can see Russian, but when I go to http://www.unityfinance.com.au/ru/ which should be the same as http://www.unityfinance.com.au/gtransla ... hp?lang=ru I can see 404 error code. It means that you have something wrong in your .htaccess file. Can you post your .htaccess file here?


Hi Edvard,
I'm dealing with the same problem. My story in short: I updated my Joomla 1.5 to 1.7 about 4 month ago and I managed to get all working with Gtranslate Pro. It was working fine with my website as well as with my backup site installed on my local PC. I didn't change anything and realised that it doesn't work since a month or so. There was unfortunatelly not time to deal with this problem since now.

I studied all entries here in the forum to see whether one of them would be helpful. Unfortuantly non of them was it including your trouble shooting at the top of the forum.

The only thing working is what I have quoted above from one of the earlier things you stated. So, http://www.myside.de/gtranslate/translate.php?lang=ru works fine. It works fine for any language you are selecting. Any other action will bring me to 404 error page. I checked my .htaccess.txt to make sure I have the appropriated entry directly following RewriteEngine On. See how it looks on my side.

Code: Select all
RewriteEngine On
# gtranslate config
RewriteRule ^([a-z]{2})/(.*)$ /gtranslate/translate.php?lang=$1&url=$2 [L,QSA]
RewriteRule ^([a-z]{2})$ /gtranslate/translate.php?lang=$1 [L,QSA]
RewriteRule ^(zh-CN)/(.*)$ /gtranslate/translate.php?lang=$1&url=$2 [L,QSA]
RewriteRule ^(zh-CN)$ /gtranslate/translate.php?lang=$1 [L,QSA]
RewriteRule ^(zh-TW)/(.*)$ /gtranslate/translate.php?lang=$1&url=$2 [L,QSA]
RewriteRule ^(zh-TW)$ /gtranslate/translate.php?lang=$1 [L,QSA]


I hope I can take this matter over so far to help getting it sorted. I'm not a programer but doing this since a view years, so I don't feel wrong dealing with this.
I would be happy if this would help to solve the issue for others, for me ( and for Ed too ;) )

Your reply is very much appreciated !

Thomas
Thomas
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 10:33 pm

Re: GTranslate Pro not working

Postby Edvard » Tue Jan 10, 2012 12:09 am

Hi,

The name for htaccess should be .htaccess not .htaccess.txt or something else.
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4183
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Next

  • Related Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

2GLux
cron