Kunena 1.6.3 and Gtranslate 1.5.23

Popular automatic website translation tool

Kunena 1.6.3 and Gtranslate 1.5.23

Postby [email protected] » Thu Apr 07, 2011 12:51 pm

It looks like that Kunena 1.6.3 doesn't work if Gtranslate (onfly) is enabled on the same page.

Here are the settings
- mtupgrade on
- load jquery off in gtranslate (since jquery is already loaded by yootheme template)
- analytics off

Gtranslate works correctly. Only Kunena stopped working, all javascript related UI elements don't react anymore (e.g. collapsing by clicking in minus symbol etc).

Here is the error message:
Code: Select all
Error: $ is not a function
Source File: http://www.yoonique.net/components/com_kunena/js/slimbox/slimbox-min.js
Line: 1


You can test this on my site

http://www.yoonique.net

Kunena uses Mootools 1.2.
Last edited by [email protected] on Sat Apr 09, 2011 9:03 am, edited 2 times in total.
[email protected]
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 12:44 pm

Re: Kunena 1.6.3 and Gtranslate 1.5.23

Postby Edvard » Thu Apr 07, 2011 3:46 pm

I think you already have unloaded jQuery from GTranslate and now it is OK.
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4348
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Kunena 1.6.3 and Gtranslate 1.5.23

Postby [email protected] » Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:38 pm

Unfortunately it is not ok.

Gtranslate works fine.

But Gtranslate breaks Kunena. Please test and see for yourself.

(for example click on the minus symbol in the top right corner, nothing happens, but it should collapse).
[email protected]
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 12:44 pm

Re: Kunena 1.6.3 and Gtranslate 1.5.23

Postby Edvard » Thu Apr 07, 2011 7:59 pm

Please write this in Kunena support forum.
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4348
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Kunena 1.6.3 and Gtranslate 1.5.23

Postby [email protected] » Fri Apr 08, 2011 4:53 am

The answer of the Kunena forum is, that they only use the standard Mootools javascript library that is loaded by Joomla. They do not load any custom libraries. But they pointed out that gtranslate creates the javascript conflict, because when gtranslate is disabled Kunena works again. Could the issue be that gtranslate doesn't run in "noconflict mode"?
[email protected]
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 12:44 pm

Re: Kunena 1.6.3 and Gtranslate 1.5.23

Postby Edvard » Fri Apr 08, 2011 8:31 pm

It runs in no conflict mode. Since the error is in http://www.yoonique.net/components/com_ ... box-min.js file, it need to be sorted out by Kunena.
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4348
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Kunena 1.6.3 and Gtranslate 1.5.23

Postby [email protected] » Sat Apr 09, 2011 6:44 am

I removed all your coding from the module except for the addscript part, and the conflict is still there.

Which basically means jquery-translate.js and slimbox.js are not compatible ...
[email protected]
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 12:44 pm

Re: Kunena 1.6.3 and Gtranslate 1.5.23

Postby [email protected] » Sat Apr 09, 2011 9:07 am

Ok, I debugged a bit and noticed that you actually modified the the translate library.

I deleted the noconflict line and now everything works. Please fix this bug, since you don't need this line, if the library is loaded by another extension in noconflict mode, right?
[email protected]
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 12:44 pm

Re: Kunena 1.6.3 and Gtranslate 1.5.23

Postby Edvard » Mon Apr 11, 2011 7:59 pm

So jQuery.noconflict() in the jquery-translate.js was removed and it worked?
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4348
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Kunena 1.6.3 and Gtranslate 1.5.23

Postby [email protected] » Tue Apr 12, 2011 2:58 am

Correct
[email protected]
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 12:44 pm


  • Related Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

2GLux