Pro installation instructions not clear

Popular automatic website translation tool

Pro installation instructions not clear

Postby CharlesE » Tue Apr 10, 2012 10:52 pm

Hi,

I installed and got the free version running on my website, very quickly and easily. Thanks. Only language that did not work was Hindi - it came out in blocks - all else was fine.

I then purchased Pro and now I get the symptoms you describe here: http://gtranslate.net/forum/troubleshooting-gtranslate-pro-t368.html#3

1. You say: - Make sure that you have uploaded gtranslate folder to your www root folder.
I bought this for use on my Africa4Adventure.com (domain with all subdomains)
To test I first run it on http://preprod.africa4adventure.com then when it works I move it to http://www.Africa4adventure.com - so my question is can this work on all sub-domains, even if not in the root of the www?

2. You say: - Make sure that you have .htaccess file and have placed # gtranslate config block to the next line of RewriteEngine On line in it.
But I am not a Linux boffin so I do not know how to
1. Make a .htaccess # gtranslate config
2. Configure it for all languages.

Please can you give me the code for this to copy into my .htaccess file for all langages? So far I took another one with a problem from the forum, but not sure if this is right or not. This should be in your install instructions.

3. You say: - Make sure that you have Apache mod_rewrite
I have set this on, but probably because of 2. above it is still not working.

4. I have made cache directory and all sub-directories permissions set to 777

Running on CentOS Linux version 5.8, Apache/2.2.21 (Unix), Joomla v1.5.26 under Php 5.2.17

Thanks regards Charles
CharlesE
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:28 pm

Re: Pro installation instructions not clear

Postby Yana » Wed Apr 11, 2012 12:02 am

Hi,
You can find the documentation here: https://gtranslate.io/docs/57-gtranslat ... umentation
If you have a problem with the installation, we can install it for you. For that we will need FTP access and admin backend access of your site. You can send that info by using our contact form on our home page.
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4129
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: Pro installation instructions not clear

Postby CharlesE » Wed Apr 11, 2012 12:39 am

Thanks Yana,

In the mean time I found the readme.txt file that I did not see the first time! Which has a lot of the details I needed in it. Also this is good.

I also just found out that you have to pay Google for the use of their API v2 as from Dec 2011, so it might be worth mentioning this on your website before people pay for the PRO version because i did not see this mentioned anywhere on your website, until I came to get my API Auth string.

I have not looked into it but is the Bing offering free?

Thanks for your help.

kind regards
Charles
CharlesE
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:28 pm

Re: Pro installation instructions not clear

Postby CharlesE » Wed Apr 11, 2012 12:59 am

One final thing I am not sure of is how I edit the php.ini file to add the /isocube extensions.

The readme file that comes with the download assumes you know what you are doing!

I have uploaded the files to /usr/local/isocube
Now I need to change php.ini to see this path and to have something like
extension = ioncube_loader_lin_5.2.so

or do i use = ioncube_loader_lin_5.2_ts.so?

Not sure what to do with the loader_wizard.php as it does nothing when I run it?
CharlesE
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:28 pm

Re: Pro installation instructions not clear

Postby Yana » Thu Apr 12, 2012 8:01 pm

Dear Charles,
API key is an optional feature and GTranslate Pro works without API key. If you can obtain Google Translate API key (which is commercial) or Bing Translator API key (which has some free limits) you can place your keys there. However there is no need for that.
You can ask your hosting provider to enable the IonCube loader for you.
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4129
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: Pro installation instructions not clear

Postby CharlesE » Tue Apr 17, 2012 5:03 pm

Hi Yana,

Thanks for your replies.

I run my own VPS server, so I am the provider unfortunately. I don't configure php very often at all and just use the default install. I am also reluctant to give out my root password to people I do not know to do it for me.

Please - can I ask you to simply tell me what I have to update in the php.ini file just to get the isocube working. Otherwise it all seems fine now except that it doesn't work because isocube not installed. I have uploaded the files, just need to configure it to see isocube. Versions of O/S and Php above.

many thanks Charles
CharlesE
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:28 pm

Re: Pro installation instructions not clear

Postby Yana » Tue Apr 17, 2012 8:34 pm

Hi,
You can find the documentation here: http://www.ioncube.com/loader_installation.php
Also you can use Google search

https://www.google.com/#sclient=psy-ab& ... .osb&cad=b
http://www.wallpaperama.com/forums/how- ... t1716.html

I hope this will help you. If it is not possible to install the PHP ionCube loader you can consider uusing our new Enterprise service. There are no server requirements.
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4129
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm


  • Related Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

2GLux
cron