Unable to get Gtranslate Pro to work

Popular automatic website translation tool

Unable to get Gtranslate Pro to work

Postby tommy0698 » Tue Sep 18, 2012 5:42 pm

My remote server is a Bitnami Cloud AWS server - [url]vfceurope.bitnamiapp.com[/url]
With a domain name [url]vfceurope.eu[/url] pointing to it.
I am running joomla 2.5.7 and had gtranslate free running on it. Which was running ok.
I purchased gtranslate pro to make use of the /uk /fr /de translated pages.
However since installing it (which I have tried 4 -5 times) I still cannot get it to work.

The site pages now add the language suffix but are always reporting - The requested URL was not found on this server. Also my existing menu links have changed and don't find the pages - if I disable SEF it works again. I have enabled debug in gtranslate but no log file shows up.

I followed the install instructions and the tips in the forum for people who had previously experienced problems but no joy. I dont know if the lack of ftp to the AWS Server is a problem. An SSL connection is required.

This is the process I followed
1. Check system requirements
PHP IonCube Loader
PHP Curl Library
PHP JSON library
PHP SOAP client (BING)
Apache mod_rewrite

2. Install pro plugin
copy gtranslate folder to htdocs
Set plugin basic options
Set /gtranslate/cache and /gtranslate/cache/XX folders permissions to 777.
/plugins/system/gtranslate/gtranslate/cache and XX language folders should be writable (777 permission)
/plugins/system/gtranslate/gtranslate/license.dat file should be writable (666 permission) - GTranslate Pro.

3. Ensure that .htaccess is configured.
Add these lines AFTER RewriteEngine On line in the .htaccess file.
# gtranslate config
RewriteRule ^([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)/([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)/(.*)$ /$1/$3 [R=301,L]
RewriteRule ^([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)/([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)$ /$1/ [R=301,L]
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteRule ^([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)/(.*)$ /gtranslate/translate.php?lang=$1&url=$2 [L,QSA]
RewriteRule ^([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)$ /gtranslate/translate.php?lang=$1 [L,QSA]

Create Robot.txt
Create sitemap.txt

4. Download and Install Gtranslate Free Module
Set for pro enabled and google redirect
goto Joomla Global configuration
Enable SEF Url's
Enable URL rewriting

Can anyone help ?
tommy0698
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 9:25 am

Re: Unable to get Gtranslate Pro to work

Postby Yana » Wed Sep 19, 2012 1:10 am

Hi,
There is no need to install both versions (the joomla system plugin a and general version).
Please send me access info and I'll correct the settings. Also please note that GTranslate license is for one domain name. If you want we can activate the licenses for your 5 subdomains for free.
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4134
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: Unable to get Gtranslate Pro to work

Postby tommy0698 » Wed Sep 19, 2012 3:55 pm

Managed to resolve the problem - which was due to an .htaccess and mod_rewrite problem.
Thanks for your help...
tommy0698
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 9:25 am

Re: Unable to get Gtranslate Pro to work

Postby Yana » Fri Sep 21, 2012 2:22 am

Hi,
Good to hear that!
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4134
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: Unable to get Gtranslate Pro to work

Postby lagen » Wed Sep 26, 2012 12:55 am

Hi

I have the same problem
I do this step:

1. Check system requirements
PHP IonCube Loader
PHP Curl Library
PHP JSON library

2. Install pro plugin
Create Robot.txt
Create sitemap.txt

3. Download and Install Gtranslate Free Module
Set for pro enabled and google redirect
goto Joomla Global configuration
Enable SEF Url's
Enable URL rewriting

is there anything I missing?
lagen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 11:00 pm

Re: Unable to get Gtranslate Pro to work

Postby lagen » Wed Sep 26, 2012 1:19 am

I success to make it's work now.

it's was 777 on cache I forget to do.
lagen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 11:00 pm

Re: Unable to get Gtranslate Pro to work

Postby Yana » Thu Sep 27, 2012 10:29 am

Hi,
Thank you for the information.
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4134
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm


  • Related Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

2GLux