Change Joomla's language

Popular automatic website translation tool

Change Joomla's language

Postby ione » Mon Jan 16, 2012 3:54 pm

Hi,

How I can change the language of my site when I translate with gTranslate?

This means that Joomla interprets the language of the site has changed.

I need is that Joomla interprets that language that has resulted gtranslate is the default language of the site.

I do not know if I explained well.
ione
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 3:24 pm

Re: Change Joomla's language

Postby Yana » Tue Jan 17, 2012 1:01 am

Hi,
Would you please clarify exactly what you're asking about. And an example might also help us understand the problem.
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4135
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: Change Joomla's language

Postby ione » Tue Jan 17, 2012 1:29 pm

Ok,

For example, on my site, when enter (http://canaryexperience.com/sport-fishing) and translated into another language, there are parts that are not translated, but if I change the default language of Joomla, it translates well.

I have a component installed (Appointment Booking Pro) that has a translator himself, but only translates, if you change the Joomla's language.
ione
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 3:24 pm

Re: Change Joomla's language

Postby ione » Thu Jan 19, 2012 2:56 pm

Do you understand what I try to explain?
ione
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 3:24 pm

Re: Change Joomla's language

Postby Edvard » Sun Jan 22, 2012 8:00 pm

You will need to disable the other translator, so everything will be handled by GTranslate.

Or if it translates only some part of a page, you will need to add class="notranslate" to the component's wrapper element and contact the extension developers to use the selected language from GTranslate instead of Joomla default language.
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Change Joomla's language

Postby ione » Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:49 pm

Hi,

The component don't have another translator, this uses keywords and translate in a file manually. Managers tell me that this component is supported with gTranslate.

I do not know what the problem.

Also, I have another problem. On page http://canaryexperience.com/descubre-el-mar1, gTranslate not translate any of the descriptions of my products and they have nothing to do with the component.
ione
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 3:24 pm

Re: Change Joomla's language

Postby Edvard » Thu Jan 26, 2012 4:16 am

Hi,

You said that the other extension has a translator itself, can it be disabled?

I have checked and see that it works for German: http://canaryexperience.com/de/descubre-el-mar1

If you want something to be translated instantly and don't want to wait, you can add ?force_translation=1 parameter in the end of the URL. Ex. http://canaryexperience.com/de/descubre ... nslation=1
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Change Joomla's language

Postby ione » Thu Jan 26, 2012 3:10 pm

Ok,

As I said, the component does not have a translator like gTranslate. This uses keywords and translates in a file manually.

I can disable it, but enabled or disabled, has no effect.

gtanslate don't translates the part where you choose the seats http://canaryexperience.com/es/diving

Also I need to translate these keywords to send the confirmation email in the language of each user.

As for the translation of the texts, are translated correctly. I had not seen the option to force translation. Thanks.
ione
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 3:24 pm

Re: Change Joomla's language

Postby Edvard » Sun Jan 29, 2012 10:00 pm

Hi,

I can see it translated: http://canaryexperience.com/es/diving

If you want to not wait and translate it forcibly you can add ?force_translation=1 in the end of the current URL. Ex. http://canaryexperience.com/es/diving?f ... nslation=1

You can make that change permanent if you edit your .htaccess file and replace lang=$1 with lang=$1&force_translation=1
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Change Joomla's language

Postby ione » Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:07 pm

Hi,

gTranslate don't translates the part where you choose the seats http://canaryexperience.com/es/diving. Adult, youth and total seats do not translate.

I need to translate these keywords (through the booking component) to send the confirmation email in the language of each user. If don't so, How I can send the confirmation email to customers based on their language?
ione
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 3:24 pm

Re: Change Joomla's language

Postby Yana » Mon Jan 30, 2012 3:17 pm

Hi,
You can edit translations manually. You should add ?language_edit=1 to the end of the page URL. It will prompt for password.
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4135
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: Change Joomla's language

Postby ione » Mon Jan 30, 2012 4:54 pm

Hi,

That's not possible, when I add ?language_edit = 1 to the end of the page URL, that part will not let me edit it manually.

Moreover, as I said in my previous post:

I need to translate these keywords (through the booking component) to send the confirmation email in the language of each user. If don't so, How I can send the confirmation email to customers based on their language?
ione
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 3:24 pm

Re: Change Joomla's language

Postby Yana » Mon Jan 30, 2012 5:02 pm

Here is an example for Spanish
http://canaryexperience.com/es/diving?language_edit=1
Click on the "Edit" button(a small pencil icon), make corrections and save your changes.
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4135
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: Change Joomla's language

Postby ione » Mon Jan 30, 2012 9:04 pm

I know how does the ?language_edit = 1 option

Please read my previous posts where I say:

gTranslate don't translates the part where you choose the seats http://canaryexperience.com/es/diving. Adult, youth and total seats do not translate.


?language_edit = 1 option has no effect on that part. Not appear the "Edit" button(a small pencil icon)
ione
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 3:24 pm

Re: Change Joomla's language

Postby Edvard » Fri Feb 03, 2012 1:00 am

Hi,

I have checked the source code and can see that in the source code the part containing mentioned adult, youth and total seats section is empty (<div id="resource_seat_types_div"></div>). After the page is loaded it is being populated by javascript. So, if you can change it, so it will not use javascript to render that section, it will be translated too.
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Change Joomla's language

Postby ione » Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:11 pm

Hi,

Changing it would be very complicated because it is an external component with a very complex coding.

It would be possible to modify the code so that each time you press one of the flags on gTranslate, changed language translation of Joomla. I think that would solve all my problems.

Would it be possible?
ione
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 3:24 pm

Re: Change Joomla's language

Postby Edvard » Tue Feb 07, 2012 3:04 pm

Hi,

It is little bit complicated, if you change the Joomla language before the translation by GTranslate, it will not work as expected, since the source language of your website will be already changed and GTranslate main language selection will conflict with it.

However if you change the Joomla language after GTranslate have done it's job, then most likely you will be fine.

I have mentioned that you can write a system plugin which will use glang session variable set by GTranslate and change the Joomla language.

If you can find a developer who can create a plugin for you, we can provide technical support to make it done for you.
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Change Joomla's language

Postby ione » Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:38 pm

Ok,

I could try change the Joomla language after GTranslate.

I have advanced knowledge of php and xml, but Joomla, my skills are basic. If you could give me some basic notions of how to do it, I would be grateful. Would that be possible?

Thanks.
ione
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 3:24 pm

Re: Change Joomla's language

Postby Edvard » Thu Feb 09, 2012 3:07 am

Hi,

In that case you could learn more about Joomla plugins and how to write them. And learn little Joomla API to know Joomla internals. You can find all the info from http://docs.joomla.org/

You will need to create another simple plugin which will just change the Joomla language after GTranslate plugin have done it's job. Probably you will need also to read the extension code for which you are going to change the language of Joomla.
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia


  • Related Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

2GLux