Change Template based on Language chosen?

Popular automatic website translation tool

Change Template based on Language chosen?

Postby jstobbe » Thu Aug 21, 2014 4:20 pm

Hi there,

I'm creating a site that is both english, french, and german. Everything is great, except....

Is there a way to configure that joomla uses the "french" template when french is chosen, the "german" template when german is chosen, etc?

The reason is - the client has specific branding that must show up (which I have embedded in the joomla template), and while english is used on the site 85% of the time, the french logos must show up when the site is in French.

Any help on this?
jstobbe
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 7:36 pm

Re: Change Template based on Language chosen?

Postby Edvard » Thu Aug 21, 2014 8:42 pm

Hi,

Yes, it is possible. You will need to detect current selected language and depending on it change the template. You will need to do some programming. If you can specify details about your platform I can provide more details.

Thank you!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4179
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Change Template based on Language chosen?

Postby webi549 » Thu Aug 21, 2014 9:00 pm

Hi,

This subject is very interresting.

Is it possible to have a tutorial for that ?

Regards
webi549
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2014 3:06 pm

Re: Change Template based on Language chosen?

Postby Edvard » Thu Aug 21, 2014 9:06 pm

It is a platform specific feature which requires custom programming, we cannot provide a tutorial for this.

Thank you!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4179
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Change Template based on Language chosen?

Postby jstobbe » Sat Aug 23, 2014 4:36 pm

Edvard,

Yes, I would like more information on how to do this. I am doing this in a joomla 2.5 installation. If you wish to post information on here, please do. But if you think it would be faster just doing the change on my joomla install, I would be happy to give you access to my install.
Would you like my email address where we can exchange information?
jstobbe
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 7:36 pm

Re: Change Template based on Language chosen?

Postby Edvard » Sat Aug 23, 2014 7:06 pm

Hi,

You may use $lang variable defined below to change your template based on it:

$session = JFactory::getSession();
$lang = $session->get('glang');

You will need to modify your joomla template to make changes on it depending on that variable.

If you want we can do it for you for additional payment. You may send your requirements with back-end and FTP access to [email protected] email address.

Thank you!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4179
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Change Template based on Language chosen?

Postby jstobbe » Wed Aug 27, 2014 4:34 pm

Hello Edvard,

I would like you to do this for me, but we are pressed for time, and I only have a 1 hour window in which to test this. Since I am in Toronto, and you are in Yerevan (a 11 hour time difference), it might be difficult to arrange.

As such, I have taken a look and your instructions seem somewhat clear, but I cannot find which part of the template has this variable you mention. Is it in the XML file of the template? Since I will be using two templates (one for each language), I will have to make this change in each template, correct?

If you really think it's too hard to explain, please tell me how much your costs might be for this? I have your email address, so I will just continue to email you there. If you wish to email me - I can be reached at [email protected]

Thanks,

Jason
jstobbe
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 7:36 pm

Re: Change Template based on Language chosen?

Postby Edvard » Thu Aug 28, 2014 7:44 am

Hi,

Just contact me via email and please send FTP and admin backend access, so I can evaluate.

Thank you!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4179
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Change Template based on Language chosen?

Postby jstobbe » Wed Sep 03, 2014 7:31 pm

Edvard,

I sent an email outlining everything as you requested. If you didn't receive the email - please let me know?

Jason
jstobbe
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 7:36 pm

Re: Change Template based on Language chosen?

Postby Edvard » Wed Sep 03, 2014 7:47 pm

Thanks, I have received your email. I'll review it and get back to you soon.

Thanks for your patience.
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4179
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia


  • Related Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

2GLux
cron