GTranslate Pro - Too many cache files

Popular automatic website translation tool

GTranslate Pro - Too many cache files

Postby Ant_Z » Mon Oct 22, 2012 5:29 pm

After instaling GTranslate Pro my website http://baker-group.net started to grow abnormally and unexpectably. I had near 1500mb used space from 2000mb. In a day no more free space left. I upgraded my hosting account to 10000 mb. In three days my site growed up to 4500 mb and now i have problems with the number of files. It counts 500 000 files and is limited by 500 000 files.

I suppose problem is in the cache files of translated pages. Is it possible to put cache in DB not in files?

Need help. My site stopped working in normal way. I can't add any new file.
Ant_Z
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 5:19 pm

Re: GTranslate Pro - Too many cache files

Postby Yana » Mon Oct 22, 2012 8:26 pm

Hi,
Here are the steps that can help you to reduce the number of the files in the cache.
1. You can keep all the .human files and clean the rest or part of the cache.
2. To reduce the number of files in the cache folder you can disable the languages you don't want from the language selector and remove from your sitemap.txt.
3. If you have dynamic texts (dynamic date-times, counters etc.) in your pages try to wrap them with class="notranslate".

Also, you can use GTranslate Enterprise service, which is a translation delivery network and it will keep the cache in our cloud TDN. You can find more info at https://gtranslate.io/faq
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4135
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: GTranslate Pro - Too many cache files

Postby Ant_Z » Tue Oct 23, 2012 9:54 am

I disabled almost all languages except of 9. Cleaned cache from disabled languages. Deleted strings from sitemap and today it started again. Everything is full.
Ant_Z
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 5:19 pm

Re: GTranslate Pro - Too many cache files

Postby Ant_Z » Tue Oct 23, 2012 8:36 pm

Ok your plugin have created only for one language nearly 80 000 files for 5 days. i enabled 9 languages only. And after the number of files get to 500 000 my site stops operating and i have to manuulay delete cache folder even to get to my admin panel.

I think that you have to change smth in your code. I dont have so many pages on my site. Even if it caused by dynamic content (for example some commercial advertisments which change every time i reload my page), your plugin should have an option to exclude some modules or smth.

I cant add class="notranslate" in my template because it will stop translating another (not dynamic) content in that position (for example left or right position of my template).

How can i check what causes such abnormal number of files and what to do? I dont need enterprice version of the translator - i want pro version to be really pro for 79 Euros.

waiting for an answer.
Ant_Z
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 5:19 pm

Re: GTranslate Pro - Too many cache files

Postby Ant_Z » Tue Oct 23, 2012 9:18 pm

have just deleted folder "cache/ar" - it created new one and in 30 minutes created 27 000 files in it? What is it?
Ant_Z
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 5:19 pm

Re: GTranslate Pro - Too many cache files

Postby Ant_Z » Tue Oct 23, 2012 9:32 pm

cache files are created with rw-r--r-- permission. Maybe it is a problem? they can't rewrite? and they are all near 0-600 bytes (very small). folder has all permissions.
Ant_Z
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 5:19 pm

Re: GTranslate Pro - Too many cache files

Postby [email protected] » Thu Oct 25, 2012 5:09 pm

I agree something is wrong. There should be a function telling which languages to translate. Like when disabling and enabling in the module, this only affects the visible or not visible flags.
The problem then occur when you add something like http://yourdomain.com/ru or http://yourdomain.com/id or http://yourdomain.com/is or http://yourdomain.com/no or whatever language you don't want to be translated it still gets translated and then a chache file is added and you get flooded with indexed google urls and broken links and from a SEO perspective tihis is a disaster and the job cleaning the mess is time consuming so you can't handle it.
Please isn't it possible to add some rule to the robots.txt or .htaccess or sietmap.txt that stops GTranslate from translating every single language as soon as you enter a /es /fr /ru /ar /is or whatever to the URL?
[email protected]
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 10:05 pm

Re: GTranslate Pro - Too many cache files

Postby Yana » Sat Oct 27, 2012 2:12 am

Hi,
Try to write a redirect rule in your .htaccess to redirect unwanted languages to the homepage.
I would recommend using GTranslate Enterprise version. In this case it will keep the translation cache on our server.
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4135
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: GTranslate Pro - Too many cache files

Postby [email protected] » Tue Oct 30, 2012 4:33 pm

Hi,
I have tried to make that rule like this:

RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www.mydomain.se/de
RewriteRule (.*) http://www.lmiab.se/$1 [R=301,L]

The same way I have made a 301-redirect from lmiab.se to http://www.lmiab.se
but it doesn't work. (this example should have made German site redirected to the main site).

Please what code can I use to have this redirect work on all unwanted languages?
[email protected]
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 10:05 pm

Re: GTranslate Pro - Too many cache files

Postby Yana » Wed Oct 31, 2012 6:40 pm

Hi,
Here is an example for French, German and Italian :

RewriteRule ^(fr|de|it)/(.*)$ /$1 [R=301,L]

Please put this rule after RewriteEngine On
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4135
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: GTranslate Pro - Too many cache files

Postby Ant_Z » Fri Nov 02, 2012 10:41 am

Yana, please check your pm
Ant_Z
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 5:19 pm

Re: GTranslate Pro - Too many cache files

Postby Yana » Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:37 pm

HI,
You can consider using GTranslate Enterprise version. It keeps the cache on our server. This will solve your problem.
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4135
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm


Re: GTranslate Pro - Too many cache files

Postby Yana » Wed Nov 28, 2012 8:36 pm

Hi,
You need to remove the old rewrite rules from your .htaccess file.
To keep the indexed translated pages you can use the following rewrite rule.
RewriteRule ^([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)/(.*)$ http://$1.domain.com/$2 [R=301,L,QSA]

Please replace domain.com with your domain name.
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4135
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm


  • Related Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

2GLux