[Solved] localhost domain

Popular automatic website translation tool

[Solved] localhost domain

Postby mherv » Fri May 11, 2012 4:35 pm

I, i just bought Gtranslate pro and i need a permanent license for my localhost development platform. i have been reading that i can rewrite my hosts file so that it will redirect to localhost. however, this cannot be a permanent solution cause i need to be able to access easily my product site or my dev site.

can you please provide me a dev license for localhost?
regards, Marc
mherv
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 4:23 pm

Re: localhost domain

Postby Yana » Fri May 11, 2012 4:48 pm

Hi,
We will need a domain name from you to enable your license. It can be hosted on your local server, however "localhost" domain name is not acceptable. Please let us know an appropriate domain name something like local.yourdomain.com to use it for testing purpose.
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4135
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: localhost domain

Postby mherv » Fri May 11, 2012 5:52 pm

can i give you any name to be locally rewritten or does it need to be a name registered by the nic
mherv
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 4:23 pm

Re: localhost domain

Postby Yana » Fri May 11, 2012 7:22 pm

Yes, you can send any name.
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4135
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: localhost domain

Postby mherv » Fri May 11, 2012 7:28 pm

my website's name is moldorent.com i could for instance call my test site moldotest.com however, i did not set physically moldorent.com on a web server yet, and the name is still parked. moldotest.com has not even been bought.

i am for the moment only working on my local machine windows 7 with xampp and joomla2.5.4 installed

I also made the necessary steps locally to install gtranslate

now i have been looking a moment how to set .htaccess to rewrite moldorent into localhost (as i have the license for moldorent), but the syntax is complicated and needs more time than i want to spend on that.

i also suspect that i have to change the environmental variables or play with some dns configuration to get the results done, cause the browser will not know itself that it has to look on the local server to resolve the url.

besides all this i must say that when i apply your script in .htaccess, even the localhost url gets rejected and its not very appropriate because in the xampp installation you must for instance type localhost to get phpmyadmin

So i would be glad to have a step by step guide in addition to the moldotest.com license to make my local installation.

for your information, i have been using a product coded by ioncube in the past and they gave me 2 licenses, 1 for my real url, and another for "localhost" so i didnt have many things to do locally to make it work

best regards, Marc
mherv
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 4:23 pm

Re: localhost domain

Postby Yana » Fri May 11, 2012 7:34 pm

Hi,
You can find the documentation here: https://gtranslate.io/docs/57-gtranslat ... umentation
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4135
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: localhost domain

Postby mherv » Fri May 11, 2012 7:40 pm

actually i read all this, and applied everything it doesnt say how to install gtranslate so that it will work on my local server with no dns pointing to it, and how to set up htaccess so that moldotest will be replaced by localhost
mherv
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 4:23 pm

Re: localhost domain

Postby Yana » Sat May 12, 2012 12:53 am

Hi,
You can use moldorent.com domain name for testing.
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4135
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: localhost domain

Postby mherv » Sat May 12, 2012 4:02 pm

i tried that but how do i have to configure my server and my computer to rewrite localhost or moldorent.com cause when i apply your modifications in .htaccess i get nowhere and i even loose the localhost access
mherv
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 4:23 pm

Re: localhost domain

Postby Yana » Sat May 12, 2012 4:19 pm

Hi,
you should add the following line to your hosts file.
127.0.0.1 moldorent.com
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4135
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: localhost domain

Postby mherv » Sat May 12, 2012 5:30 pm

thanks for the information. the hosts file modification works.
now when i type http://moldorent.com in my browser, i am directed to my developing site page
however when i apply your modifications in .htaccess and i restart apache :

# gtranslate config
RewriteRule ^([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)/([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)/(.*)$ /$1/$3 [R=301,L]
RewriteRule ^([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)/([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)$ /$1/ [R=301,L]
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteRule ^([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)/(.*)$ /gtranslate/translate.php?lang=$1&url=$2 [L,QSA]
RewriteRule ^([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)$ /gtranslate/translate.php?lang=$1 [L,QSA]
RewriteRule .* index.php [F]

and i acess my site i get this :
Accès interdit!

Vous n'avez pas le droit d'accéder au répertoire demandé. Soit il n'y a pas de document index soit le répertoire est protégé.
(you have no right to access to the requested folder. either there is no index document or the folder is protected -it doesnt say which folder)

Error 403

moldorent.com
05/12/12 16:23:08
Apache/2.2.21 (Win32) mod_ssl/2.2.21 OpenSSL/1.0.0e PHP/5.3.8 mod_perl/2.0.4 Perl/v5.10.1

would be nice to know what to do.
regards, Marc
mherv
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 4:23 pm

Re: localhost domain

Postby mherv » Sat May 12, 2012 5:39 pm

modifying the hosts file works thanks
however when i apply your modifs in the .htaccess file and restart apache :

# gtranslate config
RewriteRule ^([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)/([a-z]{2}|zh-CN|zh-TW)/(.*)$ /$1/$3 [R=301,L] ....
... RewriteRule .* index.php [F]

i get a 403 error forbidden access
telling me that i have no right to access to the requested folder (doesnt say which folder)

for your information i implanted ioncube in the htdocs folder maybe it should be somewhere else or i should modify a configuration file to say that ioncube is there

what should i do ?
regards, Marc
mherv
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 4:23 pm

Re: localhost domain

Postby Yana » Sat May 12, 2012 8:31 pm

Hi,
You can upload info.php file to gtranslate folder to check the system requirements.
Also please check the /gtranslate/cache folder permissions.
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4135
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: localhost domain

Postby mherv » Sun May 13, 2012 3:54 pm

i made sure a second time that the cache folder was writable and i gave full permissions to everybody
it does not change.

please tell me where to upload the phpinfo html

thanks
mh
mherv
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 4:23 pm

Re: localhost domain

Postby Yana » Sun May 13, 2012 8:42 pm

Hi,
If you installed GTranslare General version you should upload info.php to the /gtranslate folder.
For joomla plugin version you can check the system requirements in the joomla administration panel:
Help > System Info > PHP Information
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4135
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: localhost domain

Postby mherv » Sun May 13, 2012 10:39 pm

yes i did this. now where do i send you the result?
mherv
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 4:23 pm

Re: localhost domain

Postby Yana » Sun May 13, 2012 10:51 pm

Hi,
You can use our contact form on homepage.
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4135
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: localhost domain

Postby mherv » Sun May 13, 2012 11:07 pm

Sorry Yana, but i cant send you an attachment on either the forum and the contact form

can you give me a regular address where i can stick my attachment to?

regards Marc
mherv
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 4:23 pm

Re: localhost domain

Postby Yana » Mon May 14, 2012 9:55 am

Hi,
I've checked the PHP information. The PHP ionCube Loader is not installed or enabled. Please install it.
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4135
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: localhost domain

Postby mherv » Mon May 14, 2012 9:58 am

but i did it. i went to ioncube loader took the installer and ran it.
will try again and let you know
mherv
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 4:23 pm

Next

  • Related Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

2GLux