Observation on using relative (not absolute) internal link

Popular automatic website translation tool

Observation on using relative (not absolute) internal link

Postby applemagic » Tue Jan 03, 2012 1:52 am

I'm using GTranslate Pro on Joomla 1.5.

I have quite a few internal links on my Joomla 1.5 website to internal web pages.

I used relative rather than absolute links i.e. I used

mypage.html instead of http://mydomain.com/mypage.html

I've noticed that GTranslate Pro does not modify the relative internal links by putting /fr/ or /de/ etc. in them.

But if I change the relative internal links to absolute ones, GTranslate Pro does.

So I've now just converted all my internal relative links to absolute ones.

However if an internal link (relative or not) was part of a menu system, then GTranslate Pro correctly handled it.

I don't have any problems as now all my internal relative links are now internal absolute links. However I thought I might mention this for other people.

I only purchased GTranslate Pro yesterday. It will be interesting to see just how many more "converting" visitors I get.
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 12:55 am

Re: Observation on using relative (not absolute) internal li

Postby Edvard » Tue Jan 03, 2012 6:43 pm


Yes, it is a known behavior. No need to add your domain name in the link, but it should be relative to the root path. Ex. /mypage.html instead of mypage.html or as you have done http://mydomain.com/mypage.html.

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Site Admin
Posts: 4156
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

  • Related Topics
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests