Test Installation

Popular automatic website translation tool

Test Installation

Postby kefford » Fri May 09, 2014 6:32 am

Hi,

I am about to install and test the PRO version for my site. I like to test all such upgrades on my test site prior to installing on my live site. My test site is stored in a folder named /test under my live site. Will the install work on the test site, or only at the root of my live site?

Also, once I install on my live site I want to configure the selector the way yours is on your gTranslate site. I like the combined flag and language in a dropdown selector. I think that is both the clearest and the most effective. How do I configure this style? I did not see that anywhere in the FREE version.

Ken
kefford
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 1:16 am

Re: Test Installation

Postby kefford » Fri May 09, 2014 7:32 am

Ok, it did not work on the test site, nor on the live site. I have switched gTranslate back to FREE so the live site continues to work. My site is https://sim-x.net

When enabled in simply gave an error that page did not exist after switching languages. I am guessing I am missing one or more of the required server elements. I could not verify the server requirements (ie. ioncube, Curl, JSON, etc.) because I do not know how.
kefford
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 1:16 am

Re: Test Installation

Postby Edvard » Fri May 09, 2014 1:55 pm

Hi,

Please read our documentation for step-by-step instructions: https://gtranslate.io/docs/57-gtranslat ... umentation

If you are having problems installing it, please send us FTP and admin backend access using our contact us form on our home page and we will install it for you.

Later when it is installed we will help you to modify your language selector.

Thanks!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Test Installation

Postby kefford » Fri May 09, 2014 3:59 pm

Why the backend access? In Joomla is it not only to change the 2 settings under the gTranslate module for operate with PRO version and the REDIRECT translation method? At least that is all your documentation says needs to be done.

I will create an FTP access account and send shortly, but I am sure it is because of the ioncube thing mentioned in your documentation. That could be a problem because my hosting provider is not very cooperative!

Ken
kefford
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 1:16 am

Re: Test Installation

Postby kefford » Fri May 09, 2014 4:02 pm

Note, it has already been fully installed exactly as per your directions in your documentation. I have simply switched the 2 joomla settings back so it will continue to work without generating the page not found error.
kefford
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 1:16 am

Re: Test Installation

Postby Edvard » Fri May 09, 2014 4:13 pm

I'm not sure I understand what exactly you want currently.

If you want it to be installed correctly on your live website I have asked for access details, if there is something else, please explain.

We do not install the plugin on testing environments.
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Test Installation

Postby kefford » Fri May 09, 2014 4:58 pm

Can you install the ioncube that is required? If not, I am not sure you can help! As I explained already, it is already installed on the live site, but has been switched back to FREE settings to keep the site operational. I am asking why you need Joomla access if all that is done in there is change those 2 settings. I never give joomla access. Your documentation was clear and I followed them exactly, so you should only have to verify the server changes and requirements via the temporary FTP access I will give you. Is this correct?
kefford
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 1:16 am

Re: Test Installation

Postby Edvard » Fri May 09, 2014 5:03 pm

There is nothing to verify.

When I go to https://sim-x.net/ru/ I see 404 error page which means that you don't have Pro version installed.

It is not installed correctly.

If you don't have ionCube we will try to install it if possible.

Thanks!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Test Installation

Postby kefford » Fri May 09, 2014 5:09 pm

I just sent FTP details. Joomla to follow.
kefford
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 1:16 am

Re: Test Installation

Postby kefford » Fri May 09, 2014 5:37 pm

Joomla details sent, please complete ASAP and let me know as soon as done.
kefford
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 1:16 am

Re: Test Installation

Postby Edvard » Fri May 09, 2014 5:38 pm

Our specialist will try to install and let know the outcome.

Thanks!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Test Installation

Postby kefford » Sat May 10, 2014 8:00 am

Guys, I spoke too soon. My site does not work at all after you upgraded to PRO. The first translation of the home page looked ok. None of the other pages translate and many pages end in page not found errors. The menus and page handling is all wrong. It jumps between languages for no apparent reason and my search forms most end in page not found error when switched away from English.

Did you test the site? You could not have! You could not have missed all the errors. This is really not good. This is the reason I like to test on my test site! Guys, this is a LIVE site!! I am going to switch it back to FREE and hopefully it works again, otherwise I am going to a backup.

Am I going to face such errors when I make changes and additions to my site. Why is this so bad? I am also seeing that the PRO version is extremely slow! The FREE version was much much faster in switches. Why?

Ken
kefford
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 1:16 am

Re: Test Installation

Postby kefford » Sat May 10, 2014 8:05 am

EMERGENCY. How do I switch back, you guys have totally screwed up my site!! Come on, why did you not test the site? Is this what you do with every install? I cannot leave it like this, this is a LIVE site!
kefford
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 1:16 am

Re: Test Installation

Postby kefford » Sat May 10, 2014 8:10 am

The site will not even switch back to ENGLISH. Come on, are you guys for real!! I need a refund and I want this PRO crap off my site. I am restoring a backup right now. Sorry guys, but this is so un-necessary, all you needed to do is test the site. And, not just the home page. You needed to go back and forth. It translates to another language but will not go back. The FREE one worked flawlessly, how can this one be such crap!
kefford
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 1:16 am

Re: Test Installation

Postby kefford » Sat May 10, 2014 8:42 am

Ok, I am back up from the FULL restore. It is a good thing I took a full backup before sending you the FTP and Joomla details! I am sorry, but I had no choice but to restore. Now, I know you won't even be able to see how bad it was. But honestly better that and I lose my payment than my LIVE site being garbage for the entire weekend! I am not doing this again on my LIVE site, never!

Now, I am formally requesting a refund for the PRO version. Then, I will switch back to FREE that worked great. And, because I am fair and absolutely do not like to take advantage of FREE software and, other than tonight, great support you have provided me, please just refund me 50% and consider the 50% as payment for continuing to use your FREE version with support.

Sorry, but until you can prove to me the PRO version will work flawlessly on my test site you are not touching my LIVE site again. Again, sorry, but my site was never so messed up as it was tonight after the installation by your specialist. I will certainly consider the ENTERPRISE version down the road when my traffic increases, but it will take a lot of convincing to get me to try PRO again on my site.

I hope you understand. You have an absolute gem of a product in the FREE version, it is beyond my comprehension how a simple PRO upgrade install can go so horribly wrong! Either your specialist is a total idiot or the PRO version is bad! I know no other possibility.

Ken
kefford
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 1:16 am

Re: Test Installation

Postby Edvard » Sat May 10, 2014 9:45 am

Hi Ken,

Sorry for the troubles caused. I feel like you panicked and did what you did. You could simply turn off the plugin if you felt that there is something wrong or give us a chance to understand and fix your issues.

Anyway, we can offer you 100% refund for Pro version or an exchange with 1 year Enterprise service which is not a software and won't cause issues on your server.

Let me know.

Thanks!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Test Installation

Postby kefford » Sat May 10, 2014 7:34 pm

Um, yes I panicked, this is a LIVE site. I have customers using this site! I cannot have it unusable, even for a few hours!

That is why my original preference was for testing and setup only on my test site, but you guys said you do not install on test sites! Well this is why you need to, otherwise installs can end in disaster. Honestly, on my test site you can take as long and make as many mistakes as you like, no problem. There are no users I need to worry about. But my LIVE site, sorry, but not there. So yes I panicked.

You said all I needed to do was disable the PLUGIN. What plugin? Of all the times I used and configured your product there was only a module. No PLUGIN existed. I tried switching the module back to the FREE settings but it did not work. The documentation I read said nothing about a PLUGIN and prior to you guys doing the install there was no PLUGIN. After I restored my backup there is now no PLUGIN. So where did a PLUGIN come from?

Honestly, how would I possibly know to disable a PLUGIN that I did not know about? The first thing that should have been sent to me, if you installed a new plugin, was documentation on it. It's name, it's settings, everything! Even if you said to me that should I see any problems disable this new plugin by doing XYZ. Then I would have known and could have simply disabled it, and I would not have panicked. So, sorry I panicked.

You have a great product. The FREE version works great on my site after the restore. Let me think about what to do going forward. I want to continue with this and likely will take you up on the ENTERPRISE offer, but I will need to test it fully first. However, I am still considering staying with my offer to you of staying with the FREE because I know it works, but not for FREE, at my 50% offer to you. I do not like using FREE software on principle, I know it cost money to make and support what you offer. I am fair.

My only hesitation on the FREE is that I do not like that it translates the input fields on forms. BTW, the first check I ran on the PRO was to load one of my forms and check if it translated input fields. It did as well! I thought you said PRO defaulted to not translate input fields? Then when I submitted the form to do a search I got my first PAGE NOT FOUND and it was down hill from there.

I will get back to you at the end of the weekend. My site is fine now running the FREE version.

Ken
kefford
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 1:16 am

Re: Test Installation

Postby Edvard » Sat May 10, 2014 7:46 pm

Hi Ken,

I'm sure that if you had followed our instructions on our documentation page: https://gtranslate.io/docs/57-gtranslat ... umentation you would know everything about the plugin and configuration.

Anyways, thanks for your offer, but we also have principles, if customer doesn't like our software we make a refund.

As I mentioned Pro or Enterprise are not going to translate input fields by default.

Since Enterprise version is not a software and you are not going to install anything on your server there is no need to worry about a test environment. You will add a subdomain for each language and can make tests on it.

Let me know.

Thanks!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Test Installation

Postby kefford » Sat May 10, 2014 8:10 pm

Ok, no I did not see this documentation, and I am glad you sent this link. Now I know why I could not get the PRO version to work when I installed it myself. I did not use your online documentation I used the documentation in the file you sent. The email that was sent to me with the PRO version for my site explicitly told me to follow the instructions in the attached ZIP file, so I did. It is similar but not exactly the same.

See below the extract from the INSTALLATION.TXT file in the ZIP file you sent me,

For Joomla 1.5.x version use plg_gtranslate.zip

For Joomla 1.6.x & 1.7.x versions use plg_gtranslate-1.7.zip

For other websites including Joomla 1.0.x, WordPress, Drupal and Magento you need to follow directions in general/readme.txt file.

After installing it on Joomla:


I am using Joomla 3.2.3, so according to this TXT file I should simply proceed to follow the directions in the README file, which is what I did. Hence, I never installed a plugin. As per the ZIP file instructions "plg_gtranslate.zip" was only for Joomla 1.5.x and "plg_gtranslate-1.7.zip" was only for Joomla 1.6 and 1.7!

That is why for me there was no PLUGIN. I never installed one. So, now I understand why it did not work and why your specialist installed the PLUGIN. So we were both wrong, but I only could follow what I was told to follow. Again, sorry for the confusion.

I will get back to you shortly, most likely it will be the ENTERPRISE option. Thank you.

Ken
kefford
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 1:16 am

Re: Test Installation

Postby kefford » Sat May 10, 2014 8:24 pm

Also, please know I am only pointing out the confusion so you can address it for others. The ZIP file documentation is clearly not correct when compared to what you have online. I know now that I should have installed "plg_gtranslate.zip" when I did my PRO install and if I did I would have fully known about the plugin.

I am calm now, and all is good. You have a great product and honestly your support is great, top notch actually! Yes, there are some issues to address, but we all have issues to address. I will go with your ENTERPRISE offer, no refund required. I can test it as I see fit on my test site myself, so all is good. I am paying you for all your efforts so my principles remain intact, as do yours. Hence, all is good.

And, please, do not worry, I will be posting a good review of you, your product and most importantly your support.

Ken
kefford
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 1:16 am

Next

  • Related Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

2GLux
cron