upgrading from gtranlsate for joomla 1.5 to 2.5

Popular automatic website translation tool

upgrading from gtranlsate for joomla 1.5 to 2.5

Postby applemagic » Thu Nov 08, 2012 8:14 pm

I purchased GTranslate for Joomla 1.5 around 1st January 2012 for the website florencesoft.com

I was given GTranslate for Joomla 1.5 and Joomla 1.7. This would have been the non-enterprise version.

Would it be possible to get the paid version for Joomla 2.x (the current version of Joomla) for the domain florencesoft.com ? Or would I have to pay again.

At the moment the license is tied to one domain.

We have two domains diffenginex.com and florencesoft.com that essentially point to the same website. Due to that causing problems with the licensing, now diffenginex.com forwards to florencesoft.com

Eventually we might want to move over entirely or more fully from florencesoft.com to diffenginex.com

The way Gtranslate is licensed stops us a bit. Ideally we would like to get a new website under diffenginex.com up and running and then move florencesoft.com over. However we would have to get diffenginex.com up and running without GTranslate.

Is it possible there would be more flexible licensing for people that have two differnt domains but really they are one and the same?

Obviously we would entirely move over to one domain but that might hurt our search ranking or there might be a risk in migration and so we would to keep things open with the ability to easily move things back and forth.
applemagic
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 12:55 am

Re: upgrading from gtranlsate for joomla 1.5 to 2.5

Postby Yana » Thu Nov 08, 2012 8:50 pm

hi,
For joomla 2.5 you should use plg_gtranslate-1.7.zip . There is no need to pay again.
You will need to buy the license for diffenginex.com domain name or you can redirect it to florencesoft.com and use your license.
If you want we can change the license from florencesoft.com to diffenginex.com .
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4129
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: upgrading from gtranlsate for joomla 1.5 to 2.5

Postby applemagic » Fri Nov 09, 2012 7:21 am

Moving from one domain to another is troublesome enough. We will have to move over several databases and make sure all the software is reconnected up with different connection strings. Plus we will have to install several packages of third party software. Some of which may complain or misbehave if the domain changes or other changes are made. Ideally we would want to do this over one weekend and fast enough not to lose any potential customers or before search engines visit our site and notice some of it is missing.

What we ideally need is one package of Gtranslate software that works for both diffenginex.com and florencesoft.com domains .

Anyone can see at the moment that essentially diffenginex.com and florencesoft.com are the same website. We have this arrangment for historial reasons and the difficulty of moving from one domain to another seamlessly and quickly.

It has become we can't do things we would want to do because this bit of software and that bit of software prevents us and this is no way to do things.
applemagic
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 12:55 am

Re: upgrading from gtranlsate for joomla 1.5 to 2.5

Postby applemagic » Fri Nov 09, 2012 6:30 pm

We need the same package of GTranslate software to work simultaneously with both www.diffenginex.com and www.florencesoft.com

It is obvious to see both point to the same website.

We wanted to move our website to newer hardware and software and ideally at the weekend when we have less visitors. It is difficult enough moving. We ideally would like to preserve the foreign language translations and search index bots not finding missing content.

If we move to newer hardware and software which will provide faster responses in Europe - we can't now because Gtranslate can't be licensed to two domains at the same time.

We will have to ditch Gtranslate if we move to a new machine because of the way we want to do it.

Can this be sorted out?
applemagic
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 12:55 am

Re: upgrading from gtranlsate for joomla 1.5 to 2.5

Postby Yana » Thu Nov 15, 2012 1:30 pm

Hi,
The GTranslate license is for one domain name. http://www.diffenginex.com and http://www.florencesoft.com are different domain names. You need to buy the new license or you can redirect your old domain name to the new and use your license.
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4129
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm


  • Related Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

2GLux