English translates to Afrikaans

Popular automatic website translation tool

English translates to Afrikaans

Postby jasons » Wed Oct 22, 2014 10:40 pm

I have noticed that if my default language is English and I select the English language that it then translates to the Afrikaans language. If I select English again, then it will translate back to English. What I find more interesting is that I do not even the Afrikaans language select as an option.

Do others have this issue or have a solution? Any help would be appreciated!
jasons
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 10:35 pm

Re: English translates to Afrikaans

Postby Edvard » Wed Oct 22, 2014 10:42 pm

Hi,

Just do not select English if your site is already in English.

Thanks!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4183
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: English translates to Afrikaans

Postby jasons » Wed Oct 22, 2014 10:50 pm

Edvard - Yes I am aware of that but I know the users and my client will select English. As I have Gtranslate as a pop up on the home page as a request from the client. So I really need for it to translate to English if someone selects that language, even though its the default language.

Anyone have workarounds?
jasons
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 10:35 pm

Re: English translates to Afrikaans

Postby Edvard » Wed Oct 22, 2014 10:54 pm

Not sure, but if you see that the site is already in English why you should click the English flag?

If you really need that for reasons not known to me, then you will need to modify doGTranslate javascript function to add handling of that scenario.

Thanks!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4183
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: English translates to Afrikaans

Postby jasons » Wed Oct 22, 2014 11:39 pm

I understand what you are saying Edvard. However I have to have a pop up upon entering the home page that ask you to select your language. So as you can see someone is going to select English and it will translate to Afrikaans each time.
jasons
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 10:35 pm

Re: English translates to Afrikaans

Postby johannes69 » Wed May 27, 2015 1:31 pm

Hi I have the exact same issue,

Please give steps how to fix this as it is unacceptable.

You WILL always get people clicking on the English flag even if the site is English and then you definitely don't want the site translated to Afrikaans.

Please advise.
johannes69
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 1:27 pm

Re: English translates to Afrikaans

Postby Edvard » Wed May 27, 2015 7:22 pm

Hi,

Haven't had a time to fix this issue in the free version yet. As mentioned earlier you will need to modify doGTranslate javascript function to check for the current selected language from cookie. If you are a coder it should be easy.

That issue is fixed in Enterprise version.

Thanks!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4183
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia


  • Related Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

2GLux
cron