Some URL translation broken

Popular automatic website translation tool

Some URL translation broken

Postby avkeele » Fri Apr 14, 2017 5:10 pm

I have a strange issue where some of the translated URL's for Dutch are being improperly created, and link to non-existing pages. Most translated Dutch URL's work, others do not. Specifically, the broken ones I've found (so far) can be viewed on a screen capture I made that is viewable at https://www.certifiedinfosec.com/Dutch- ... errors.png" rel="nofollow" target="_blank" rel="nofollow" target="_blank" rel="nofollow" target="_blank" rel="nofollow" target="_blank" rel="nofollow" target="_blank" rel="nofollow" target="_blank" rel="nofollow" target="_blank" rel="nofollow" target="_blank" rel="nofollow" target="_blank" rel="nofollow" target="_blank" rel="nofollow" target="_blank" rel="nofollow" target="_blank" rel="nofollow" target="_blank (since I can't post a graphic to this board). Clicking on these links just results 404 "Not Found" pages.

Here's other bad link conversions from page content:

I've already cleared the browsers cache and tried with both Chrome and IE. I also cleared the cache in Joomla. Gzip is not enabled.

The same menu items work in English and other languages.
avkeele
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 4:41 pm

Re: Some URL translation broken

Postby Yana » Fri Apr 14, 2017 11:22 pm

Hi,
Please edit URLs to fix the issue. I have edited Dutch URLs.
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4364
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: Some URL translation broken

Postby avkeele » Sat Apr 15, 2017 4:27 pm

Hello Yana,

What? The URL's that don't work are the ones dynamically generated by Gtranslate as part of the service I pay for. I did not make them, and don't know how to edit them if I even wanted to.

The really issue is that Gtranslate is not always properly and reliably

1. Creating translated URLs; and
2. resolving and redirecting its own translated URLs

Gtranslate needs to fix the bug. I will not fix the service I am paying Gtranslate to provide. I have already found 20+ broken links in Dutch, French, and Chinese (Simplified) by painstakingly going through my entire site and testing menus and links in each language. I'm only half-way finished with my testing of 29 specific links. And what about new links we may create in the future? A quick edit is not the solution for a problem so widespread throughout the menus and content.

Gtranslate needs to fix its link generator and the link resolver. I pay for them to work reliably, and they do not.

Regards,

Allen
avkeele
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 4:41 pm

Re: Some URL translation broken

Postby Yana » Mon Apr 17, 2017 1:18 am

Hi,
How to find these links on your website? Can you send me the links of the pages ?
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4364
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: Some URL translation broken

Postby avkeele » Mon Apr 17, 2017 2:06 am

I tested thr Gtranslate-translated URL' for 25 links in 30 languages (750 total).

These are the untranslated links that failed to convert properly:

https://www.certifiedinfosec.com/be/fra ... erviewing/
https://www.certifiedinfosec.com/zh-CN/ ... ion/cpfcs/
https://www.certifiedinfosec.com/zh-CN/ ... tion/cfca/
https://www.certifiedinfosec.com/zh-CN/ ... tion/cfcp/
https://www.certifiedinfosec.com/zh-CN/ ... estigator/
https://www.certifiedinfosec.com/fr/fra ... erviewing/
https://www.certifiedinfosec.com/fr/cip ... rtificate/
https://www.certifiedinfosec.com/fr/cip ... s-diploma/
https://www.certifiedinfosec.com/fr/fra ... ion/cpfcs/
https://www.certifiedinfosec.com/fr/fra ... tion/cfca/
https://www.certifiedinfosec.com/fr/fra ... tion/cfcp/
https://www.certifiedinfosec.com/hi/ant ... iso-37001/
https://www.certifiedinfosec.com/hi/fra ... tion/cfca/
https://www.certifiedinfosec.com/uk/fra ... erviewing/
https://www.certifiedinfosec.com/vi/fra ... estigator/

The above links produce nicely translated pages of course, but the translated URL's can only be found by clicking one of the above links that Gtranslate has converted on the page into the target language. Once translated by Gtranslate, the above URLS go to 404 not found pages.

I did this exercise to create a URL list that I could then get translated into custom-created Hreflang sitemaps since Gtranslate does not automatically insert an Hreflang tag into a translated page's header (as it should, IMHO).
avkeele
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 4:41 pm

Re: Some URL translation broken

Postby Edvard » Mon Apr 17, 2017 6:49 pm

Hi,

The issue is more general, sometimes when you translate a word into another language then translate it back it can be a different one. If you manually correct the translations in the URL the issue will be fixed.

Can you create a HTML sitemap for your website like this one: https://gtranslate.io/sitemap
It will help you to make corrections to the URLs easily.

Make sure to use canonical meta, currently it is missing from your website, it will notify search engines to index the translated URL.

We do not automatically add hreflang tags. However you can do it on your own. It can create issues if used improperly. Better to leave it to search engines and they will treat it correctly based on html lang attribute and other signs.

Thanks!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4349
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Some URL translation broken

Postby avkeele » Tue Apr 18, 2017 3:50 am

Hello,

Yes, I can create a sitemap. I already have done this with my homepages at https://www.certifiedinfosec.com/index. ... ap&lang=en". Expand "Languages" to see the custom URLs to be crawled. However, creating a sitemap to help search engines find untranslated URL's has nothing to do with this issue I am reporting.

1.) All a sitemap does is help establish links to be indexed. It does not correct the bad links Gtranslate is creating and embedding into my site for different languages; and
2.) I do not speak Chinese, Hindi, White Russian, French, or Vietnamese. How am I supposed to create a sitemap in a different language I do not speak, and then get Gtranslate to then resolve those inks properly? How would I get Gtranslate to use my own translations (that I can't create) in the place of the badly translated links it is already making on the fly?

Gtranslate is dynamically translating links throughout my site completely beyond my control. It creates some translated URLS that it cannot later resolve to the proper page in the desired language. This is a bug that I cannot fix or work around.

Regardless of what I do in creating a sitemap, it will not correct those broken URLs to keep them from linking to "not found" pages. Gtranslate makes thos bad links, and I cannot stop this. My sitemap will not improve Gtranslate's bad URLs and bad resolution. The bad links will still be browse-able in the site regardless of an unrelated sitemap. Why did you even recommend this?

Users will continue to browse in their own language, click on poorly converted links, and run into 404 errors. Google's crawlbot will do the same, which will hurt my SERP for the entire site. How does a sitemap fix this problem? Please advise.

As for the Hreflang, I already know that Granslate does not take care of this as I feel it should. However, inserting Hreflang tags into pages is not the only way to get Google to map pages to languages. I can do it with a special sitemap too. See https://support.google.com/webmasters/a ... 0865?hl=en" to learn how. I was in the process of creating such a specialized sitemap that I found 15 Gtanslate created links that fail. Now I need you to get Gtranslate to properly create links so it does not embed clickable 404 links throughout my site.

Regards,
Allen
avkeele
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 4:41 pm

Re: Some URL translation broken

Postby Edvard » Tue Apr 18, 2017 4:16 am

Hi,

It is absolutely not necessary to create a sitemap for each language. Just take care of your sitemap for your main language.

Gtranslate is dynamically translating links throughout my site completely beyond my control. It creates some translated URLS that it cannot later resolve to the proper page in the desired language. This is a bug that I cannot fix or work around.


You have control of the translated URLs, you can edit them.

The issue is the following: A and B get translated to the same X (that can happen in the translation world), after that you visit X, so the system has to pick A or B, it picks one of them which may be the incorrect one and you get a 404 error, because it doesn't exist on the server.

What I'm trying to say is that when you discover such 404 pages you can fix it by editing the translated URL from your HTML sitemap page.

The URLs are not being translated instantly, it takes time to discover them and to translate them. Your HTML sitemap page will make the link discovery process instant for our system (translation still can take some time). It is advised to use canonical link, so when search engine visits an untranslated URL it can find the translated URL from the canonical link and update the index.

Hope this makes sense.

Thanks!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4349
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Some URL translation broken

Postby avkeele » Tue Apr 18, 2017 12:51 pm

This is starting to make more sense. When reference was made earlier that I could edit the translations, I guess you assumed I knew ho to do that. I am a new customer, and I did not even know it is possible. No guidance was provided as to where to find the steps. I found something in the Pro documentation at https://gtranslate.io/docs/57-gtranslat ... umentation. Is this correct?

My automated html sitemap page is at https://www.certifiedinfosec.com/index. ... ml&lang=en. How do I configure Gtranslate to use this sitemap instead of a manually created sitemap.xml? The only reason I created a special langiuage sitemap is because I added the hreflang tags to special sitemaps since Joomla does not include hreflang tags in the pages without enabling its langauges filters and plugin. You can see my custom combined hreflang sitemaps at https://www.certifiedinfosec.com/hreflang-1.xml and https://www.certifiedinfosec.com/hreflang.xml. Google Tools is telling me I have no hreflang associations, and I am trying to fix this with these custom hreflang sitemaps.

I tried following the guidance of using "?language_edit=1" to edit a link. Unfortunately, it keeps asking me for authorization when I save, and my admin credentials are not working. What do I use?

I am not sure how to implement canonical links in Joomla. My understanding is that I simply enable the system SEF plugin, and configure with the main site URL. I have done this, and tied using various online canonical testing tools to see if is working. Please verify that it works properly now to support Gtranslate.
avkeele
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 4:41 pm

Re: Some URL translation broken

Postby Edvard » Tue Apr 18, 2017 4:16 pm

Hi,

It seems that you have not read the instructions email we have sent to you. It includes correct link to documentation and your login/password to edit the translations.

I do not recommend playing with the sitemap or hreflang if you do not know what you are doing.

I can see that you now have your canonical link in place. Just move <meta name="uri-translation" content="on" /> to top of the <head> tag.

Thanks!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4349
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Some URL translation broken

Postby avkeele » Tue Apr 18, 2017 4:53 pm

Hello,

I found my user name and password from the order confirmation email sent on March 6. I was able to successfully change a single broken link. When I tried to fix another, it would not accept the same user name and password, even though I had Google Chrome save the login information. I tried re-entering the information by hand, and it still was not accepted after multiple copy/paste attempts.

The Joomla system SEF plugin that handles canonical tags doe not allow me to configure where or how it places the tags. Are the canonical tags not working properly for Gtranslate? If not, please advise how I configure Joomla to support you as required.

Is my sitemap at https://www.certifiedinfosec.com/index. ... ml&lang=en" rel="nofollow" target="_blank sufficient for Gtranslate? Do I need to configure Gtranslate to recognize this link as my sitemap?

Thanks.
avkeele
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 4:41 pm

Re: Some URL translation broken

Postby Edvard » Tue Apr 18, 2017 5:03 pm

Hi,

When you enter you login/password and it accepts it, it will not ask it again till your session ends. If you can write what exactly you want to change I can check it for you.

You have placed <meta name="uri-translation" content="on" /> tag yourself, you need to move it to top.

Your sitemap is good, no action is needed.

Thanks!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4349
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Some URL translation broken

Postby avkeele » Tue Apr 18, 2017 8:20 pm

Hello,

Yana was able to help me fix the login error. It required a local hosts file edit for one of the languages.

I was using a plugin, "EasyScript" to place the <meta name="uri-translation" content="on" /> tag. I got rid of EasyScript and manually added the tag to my template's head.php. It is now at the top.

I have successfully used editing to resolve all of my broken links discovered thus far. Now I will run a URL broken link test to see if I can find others.

Thanks for your help.
avkeele
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 4:41 pm

Re: Some URL translation broken

Postby Yana » Wed Apr 19, 2017 3:18 pm

Hi,

The issue is fixed. You should be able to save translations without changing hosts file.
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4364
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm


  • Related Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

2GLux