Translation costing me a fortune!

Popular automatic website translation tool

Translation costing me a fortune!

Postby furnivat » Sun Jul 26, 2015 3:55 pm

Do the makers of GTranslate you have any tips for reducing my translation bill with Google, please? I currently spend hundreds of dollars / month on translation! (I use GTranslate Pro version.) I do not make enough from non-English language sales to compensate for this huge expenditure so I am going to have to uninstall GTranslate unless I can find a way to significantly reduce my expenditure on automatic translation.

I noticed in the debug file that GTranslate tells Google not to cache any content on Google's side. Could this be part of my problem? Is there any way of changing this?
* upload completely sent off: 111 out of 111 bytes
< HTTP/1.1 200 OK
< Cache-Control: no-cache, no-store, max-age=0, must-revalidate
< Pragma: no-cache
< Expires: Fri, 01 Jan 1990 00:00:00 GMT


Thank you for any advice you can give.
furnivat
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 7:11 pm

Re: Translation costing me a fortune!

Postby Edvard » Mon Jul 27, 2015 12:58 am

Use Enterprise version.
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4183
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Translation costing me a fortune!

Postby furnivat » Mon Jul 27, 2015 1:04 pm

I don't understand how that would save me money. Are the translations cached for longer with the Enterprise version, please?
furnivat
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 7:11 pm

Re: Translation costing me a fortune!

Postby Yana » Mon Jul 27, 2015 5:39 pm

Hi,

Yes, GTranslate Enterprise keeps the translation cache on our server.
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4134
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: Translation costing me a fortune!

Postby furnivat » Mon Jul 27, 2015 5:57 pm

But do I still have to pay Google to translate my content and provide an API key? I am not 100% clear about how this works from the information available on this site I'm afraid.
furnivat
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 7:11 pm

Re: Translation costing me a fortune!

Postby Edvard » Tue Jul 28, 2015 12:18 am

No, you don't need to pay for API usage.
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4183
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Translation costing me a fortune!

Postby furnivat » Tue Jul 28, 2015 2:10 am

Thank you for this information. I will definitely upgrade then.

With all due respect I don't think your website emphasizes this huge cost saving advantage of the Enterprise over the Pro version. You could probably sell many more licenses if this were stated more clearly on the site, since the era of free Google and Bing translation is over.
furnivat
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 7:11 pm

Re: Translation costing me a fortune!

Postby Edvard » Tue Jul 28, 2015 1:02 pm

Thanks for the advice! We have added that info into our FAQ list.
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4183
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia


  • Related Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

2GLux
cron