Just bought Enterprise - Great Product - Two questions

Popular automatic website translation tool

Just bought Enterprise - Great Product - Two questions

Postby Ludwig von Mises » Mon Dec 16, 2013 10:57 pm

Hi,

I have two questions regarding my recent Enterprise purchase:

1) I am seeing in Google Analytics traffic on both of the new subdomains. Since they are technically different sites I believe I should not be seeing this activity. Then again, Analytics is in the source code so there is no reason why Analytics should NOT be tracking the site. Is this normal behavior?

2) I use SSL for my community page and for logged-in users and obviously the self-signed certificate you provide is useless to me. How do I go about adding my own SSL to the language subdomains?

Site is MiraArgentina.com with subdomains en. and pt. so far. Module not published yet, I'm still tweaking translations.

Thanks!
Ludwig von Mises
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 5:19 pm

Re: Just bought Enterprise - Great Product - Two questions

Postby Edvard » Mon Dec 16, 2013 11:40 pm

Hi,

You may configure the analytics code to support multi domains.

If you send your SSL keys for subdomaind we will configure it for you.

Thanks!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4179
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Just bought Enterprise - Great Product - Two questions

Postby Ludwig von Mises » Mon Dec 16, 2013 11:54 pm

Edvard wrote:Hi,

You may configure the analytics code to support multi domains.

If you send your SSL keys for subdomaind we will configure it for you.

Thanks!


Thanks for the response.

In Analytics, I never configured the Analytics code at all. Track subdomains is set to OFF in Analytics Admin. Here is the code:

Code: Select all
<script type="text/javascript">

  var _gaq = _gaq || [];
  _gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-xxxxxxxxx-4']);
  _gaq.push(['_trackPageview']);

  (function() {
    var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true;
    ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://ssl' : 'http://www') + '.google-analytics.com/ga.js';
    var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s);
  })();

</script>


I am a bit worried about Google thinking that the en. and pt. subdomains are identical to the root domain.

Regarding the SSL certificate, it appears I have one only for the main domain www/non-www. Do I need to buy one with multiple domains and re-install, or would it be better to give you guys a completely new SSL certificate for multiple domains used exclusively for GTranslate CNAMEs?
Ludwig von Mises
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 5:19 pm

Re: Just bought Enterprise - Great Product - Two questions

Postby Edvard » Tue Dec 17, 2013 12:00 am

For the analytics you can check this article: https://developers.google.com/analytics ... ackingSite

Yes, you need to purchase SSL for subdomains (May be wildcart will be cheaper).

Also you may use cloudflare which gives free SSL.
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4179
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Just bought Enterprise - Great Product - Two questions

Postby Ludwig von Mises » Tue Dec 17, 2013 12:09 am

Edvard wrote:For the analytics you can check this article: https://developers.google.com/analytics ... ackingSite

Yes, you need to purchase SSL for subdomains (May be wildcart will be cheaper).

Also you may use cloudflare which gives free SSL.


Thanks for the Analytics docs. Seems my asynchronous code is set up out-of-the-box to track the subdomains and it seems OK to track various domains with a single profile.

Regarding SSL, I am going to have to pass for now since my Yireo SSL plugin strips the subdomain out of the URL for logged-in users so I will have to think of something else.

Thanks for all the help!
Ludwig von Mises
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 5:19 pm

Re: Just bought Enterprise - Great Product - Two questions

Postby Edvard » Tue Dec 17, 2013 12:22 am

We can help you to configure/modify Yireo to suite your needs!

Thank you.
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4179
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Just bought Enterprise - Great Product - Two questions

Postby Ludwig von Mises » Tue Dec 17, 2013 5:41 pm

Edvard wrote:We can help you to configure/modify Yireo to suite your needs!

Thank you.


You have been very helpful.

I would like to keep this simple. For the public only the EasySocial component is forcing SSL. I don't expect any community activity from foreigners so I would like to know if there is a way to redirect any request for en.miraargentina.com/comunidad and pt.miraargentina.com/comunidad (and all of the /comundad/sub-pages) to https://miraargentina.com/comunidad.

This way I avoid the SSL warning from the subdomain and I also avoid the hassle of trying to maintain a tri-lingual community.
Ludwig von Mises
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 5:19 pm

Re: Just bought Enterprise - Great Product - Two questions

Postby Edvard » Thu Dec 19, 2013 11:54 am

Hi,

You may try this rewrite rules in your .htaccess

RewriteCond %{HTTP:X-GT-Lang} en|pt
RewriteRule /comunidad/(.*) http://www.miraargentina.com/comunidad/$1 [R=301,L]
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4179
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Just bought Enterprise - Great Product - Two questions

Postby Ludwig von Mises » Sat Dec 21, 2013 3:24 pm

Edvard wrote:Hi,

You may try this rewrite rules in your .htaccess

RewriteCond %{HTTP:X-GT-Lang} en|pt
RewriteRule /comunidad/(.*) http://www.miraargentina.com/comunidad/$1 [R=301,L]


That works great. Now I have one last question:

Do the subdomains also use my root robots.txt? If not, is there a way to use a robots.txt for the language subdomains?

Thanks!
Ludwig von Mises
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 5:19 pm

Re: Just bought Enterprise - Great Product - Two questions

Postby Edvard » Sun Dec 22, 2013 9:03 pm

Hi,

Subdomains use the same robots.txt file.

Thank you!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4179
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Just bought Enterprise - Great Product - Two questions

Postby Ludwig von Mises » Mon Aug 11, 2014 1:08 am

OK, so I switched to Nginx and now the ONLY rule that I haven't been able to figure out how to do in Nginx is this one:

RewriteCond %{HTTP:X-GT-Lang} en|pt
RewriteRule /comunidad/(.*) http://miraargentina.com/comunidad/$1 [R=301,L]

Any ideas how to write this rule for Nginx?
Ludwig von Mises
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 5:19 pm

Re: Just bought Enterprise - Great Product - Two questions

Postby Ludwig von Mises » Sat Oct 25, 2014 4:06 pm

Ludwig von Mises wrote:OK, so I switched to Nginx and now the ONLY rule that I haven't been able to figure out how to do in Nginx is this one:

RewriteCond %{HTTP:X-GT-Lang} en|pt
RewriteRule /comunidad/(.*) http://miraargentina.com/comunidad/$1 [R=301,L]

Any ideas how to write this rule for Nginx?


BUMP! ;)
Ludwig von Mises
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 5:19 pm


  • Related Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

2GLux
cron