Manually translate only certain words

Popular automatic website translation tool

Manually translate only certain words

Postby tmedia » Sat Feb 08, 2014 3:27 am

Hello, it would be possible to set manual translation only for certain words?
We are featuring product names that should translated in a specific way in each language. We're fine with Google translation for the description but we would like to provide translation only for the product name in all posts and certain technical words.

I saw there's a class attribute to avoid translating some words: <div class="notranslate"> some text </div>
But that's not exactly what we need.. we would like to specify what should be the correct translation for that term in each language.


Is it possible?
Thanks
tmedia
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 3:20 am

Re: Manually translate only certain words

Postby Yana » Sun Feb 09, 2014 1:14 am

Hi,

If you are using GTranslate Pro or GTranslate Enterprise you should be able to manually edit automatic translations. You just need to add ?language_edit=1 to the end of the URL and you will see the translation editing tools.
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4135
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: Manually translate only certain words

Postby tmedia » Sun Feb 09, 2014 6:30 am

Thanks Yanna
Yes we're using GTranslate Enterprise, but since some technical words are repeated along the website.. it would be possible to set the correct manual translation of a certain keyword for the whole website.
Same as the nontranslate class code... it would be possible to include a code to say that "some text" should translatd in french as "A", in german as "B" an so on.. everytime it appears?

Thanks
tmedia
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 3:20 am

Re: Manually translate only certain words

Postby tmedia » Sun Feb 09, 2014 7:18 am

It could be something related with glossaries. It be possible to upload a glossary for certain words?

Google Translation Toolkit allows you to save and integrate custom glossaries. I see at least 2 use cases:

* Lookup tool - A simple gadget for looking up preferred or custom terms
* Enhance Automatic translation - Selecting automatic translations would yield far better results

Thanks
tmedia
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 3:20 am

Re: Manually translate only certain words

Postby Yana » Sun Feb 09, 2014 11:57 pm

Hi,
If you can edit the source code of your website and separate that text with some html tag , for example span tag, you can edit it only once and it will be loaded from the cache next time.
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4135
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: Manually translate only certain words

Postby tmedia » Thu Feb 13, 2014 10:29 pm

Dear Yana
It seem we could do it using "translation memories":

https://support.google.com/translate/to ... opic=22239

Since google translations are managed though your system, can we use this option with gtranslate?

Thanks
tmedia
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 3:20 am

Re: Manually translate only certain words

Postby Edvard » Sat Feb 15, 2014 12:22 am

Hi,

It is not related to GTranslate. Here is an example how you can achieve the desired result.

"This is a sentence with product name #1."

"This is second sentence with product name #1."

You want to change "product name #1" to "product name #2" in all sentences in a particular language. In that case you need to modify the HTML source code of your site and wrap product name appearance in all places with span tag. In that case the sentences will look like:

"This is a sentence with <span>product name #1</span>."

"This is second sentence with <span>product name #1</span>."

So when you edit one time "product name #1" it will be changed in all your sentences.

Thanks!
Regards,

Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Edvard
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

Re: Manually translate only certain words

Postby tmedia » Mon Feb 17, 2014 11:03 pm

Thanks Edvard

I think it would work to replace a word in english... but how we will now what word we will have after translation? I mean we would like to tell the system to translate one word correctly in all places.
For example: we'd like that "people" in english is translated as "gente" in spanish always (but not "personas"). Just an example. It's important for us for certain keywords and product names that are not correctly translated automatically and they appear seral times in each page. So manual editing would be time conssuming specially in seceral languages.
Is this somethign we could create working with google translate API?

Thanks
tmedia
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 3:20 am

Re: Manually translate only certain words

Postby Yana » Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:44 pm

Hi,
You will need to separate word "people" with the html tag in all pages. In this case you can edit the translation of word "people" and next time the translated version "gente" will be loaded from the cache.
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4135
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm


  • Related Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

2GLux
cron