menu not translating

Popular automatic website translation tool

menu not translating

Postby dianacris » Sat May 19, 2012 2:12 am

First let me say that I'm happy with GTranslate Free! It was easy to add and position, unlike the Bing translator widget which I could not seem to put where I wanted it to appear. When I used the Google Translate tools the translator kept getting stuck when using IE8 and Safari. GTranslate works in IE, Safari, and Firefox. Thank you! That problem is now solved!

So, here' s two issues:
1. Previously I was able to get the Google translate tools to translate the content as well as my DHTML nav menu. GTranslate is not translating the menu. Everything else is translating just fine.
2. Some images are disappearing when I translate the page. I didn't design the page, I'm just adding the translation piece. The graphics at the bottom of the About Us page are there using MenuMachine code. (??) I'm guessing that's causing an issue after the translation runs. I realize the images won't be translated but I don't want them to disappear either.

http://clinicalcareskinsolutions.com/about_us.asp

Thanks in advance!
dianacris
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 19, 2012 1:47 am

Re: menu not translating

Postby Yana » Sun May 20, 2012 12:43 am

Hi,
have you installed the latest version of GTranslate free module ?
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4129
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: menu not translating

Postby dianacris » Mon May 21, 2012 12:47 am

I just downloaded the code via your website on Friday so I assume that was the latest version. I am using the HTML version so I just picked my options (redirect with all the default options -- no Analytics) and pasted the code into my page. What else do I need to do?
dianacris
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 19, 2012 1:47 am

Re: menu not translating

Postby Yana » Mon May 21, 2012 12:57 pm

Hi,
I've checked the source code of your website.
Your menu is generated with javascript and it is not visible in the source code and it cannot be translated. If it is found in source the code it will be translated.
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4129
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: menu not translating

Postby dianacris » Tue May 22, 2012 3:53 pm

ok. So what about the images? Why do they disappear after selecting a language?
dianacris
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 19, 2012 1:47 am

Re: menu not translating

Postby Yana » Tue May 22, 2012 7:34 pm

Hi,
You can write a rule in your .htaccess file to redirect the images.
Here is an example :
RewriteRule ^([a-z]{2})/image/(.*) /image/$2 [R=301,L]
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Yana
 
Posts: 4129
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: menu not translating

Postby dianacris » Tue May 22, 2012 11:01 pm

This site is hosted on a windows server with GoDaddy so I don't have an htaccess file. I fixed the issue by changing the path to each image so that it was a full path rather than a relative path. Issue seems to be solved. Now I just have to modify the menu so it's not generated with javascript.

Thanks
dianacris
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 19, 2012 1:47 am


  • Related Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

2GLux
cron