% translations and alternative flag code

Popular automatic website translation tool

% translations and alternative flag code

Postby Salmy » Mon May 19, 2014 10:01 pm

Hi, I signed up to the enterprise version, and I noticed (I had used the free on-the-fly version before) that the first time I go to a page on the translation's subdomains, the text appears with %'s, but usually after refreshing, it's already almost completely translated.

Regarding that, i got a couple of questions:

1st - Do you have any kind of 'crawler' that will eventually get through each page and translate it? If so, how long do you think it will take for it? We got a google sitemap of the whole site if it helps.
2nd - If not, is there any way that whenever a page is visited for the first time, it makes an 'onthefly' translation, or just wait to serve it until the translation is done?

Now another matter:

I need to place the flags in a table cell that already has a background, so the divs' background image to display the flags doesn't work. Do you have pre-made code with images for each flag (classical <img>)? I already made 2 myself for english and spanish so I could show my customer, but I was wondering if you have it around so I don't have to do it myself.

Also, the pull-down you have in the main site is very pretty. Any chance that we could use one? In the generated code is either a row of flags or a pull-down without them (or with them outside). Do you have available the code to make it look like on your main site?

Thank you!
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 9:38 pm

Re: % translations and alternative flag code

Postby Edvard » Tue May 20, 2014 12:16 pm


When we discover a new content we show % and it is translated shortly after the discovery.

There are many crawlers on the web and they will take care of it, so no need to have a special crawler. But you may make things faster if you manually navigate your website using your sitemap on different languages, so we can discover your content and translate.

You may use our HTML widget and make modifications on it. It is not required to use img per flag, you can use layers.

You may grab the CSS, JS and HTML of the language selector we use from our website source code.


Edvard Ananyan - GTranslate Team

Please leave your feedback on your CMS plugin directory. It is very important for us!
Google Translate Joomla
Google Translate WordPress
Google Translate Drupal
Site Admin
Posts: 4151
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia

  • Related Topics
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests